You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dropping targeted comments

in #community6 years ago

I've recently started downvoting spammy comments. For a long time I didn't believe in downvoting, and never did, but now I see it is an integral part of how this system functions without a central authority. We all become responsible for fighting spam.

I actually gave a 100% downvote today to someone who not only commented in a way that clearly showed he/she had just looked at the photo and not read the post, but also seemed to use 3 different sock puppet accounts to upvote their own post to about .16 so that it appeared first in the list of post comments. Or maybe it really is a group of spammers working together to reward each other's comments and encourage other readers to think it's a comment worth supporting. Whatever the plan, not working on my blog.

Sort:  

For a long time I didn't believe in downvoting, and never did, but now I see it is an integral part of how this system functions without a central authority.

It took me quite a while too.

We all become responsible for fighting spam.

We are all responsible for everything here and in time we will realise it more and more. People complain about Stinc but, in a decentralized community, their hands are somewhat tied.

Whatever the plan, not working on my blog.

Yep. They also do it with stolen accounts while they power them down sometimes. Smash em ;)