Share Something Every Day - Multiple

in #community3 years ago

Untitled

Community

Today I learned that there are (at least) two model railway societies in Guildford. The one that most people seem to know about is the Guildford Model Engineering Society who have a base in Stoke Park. They have 3½, 5 and 7¼ inch gauge passenger railways and have open days throughout the year. I didn't know this level of detail, but now, of course, I'm going to have to plan a trip. Anyway, I met someone today from the other group, the lesser-known Astolat Model Railway Circle. I understand there was a break between the groups about fifty-years ago based on whether to work on fixed layouts (GMES) or portable ones (AMRC). So now you know too (though I'm open to being put right on details by anyone who knows better).

We heard that the church garden got a Gold medal from Guildford In Bloom. Ian, who does the garden, is justifiably proud.

I also got a list of films that we might be able to show at our Film Club. It's tricky because of the Netflix problem of (near) infinite choice but also because we don't really know who's going to be interested, so we're just going to have to plump for one and see how it goes.

We did make some progress on Panto planning today too, although again it will be interesting to see how our plan fares in contact with the people hereabouts.

I spent a brain-numbing hour on reviewing the new website layout too. At least I now know the things I need to do next and it's not a terribly long list.

Podcast/Writing

I've been experimenting today with talking to otter. Otter.ai that is, the transcription service. So when I've had a walk (to work and back and into town for something) I've chatted away to my phone, which is recording what I say, sending it to otter for transcription and then at the end of the day I've been able to download some long rambling monologues in text and audio form. That helps me identify the (potentially) interesting bits and now I can use them either as the basis of a written piece or perhaps dropped into a podcast. In any case, it's a good exercise for me in opening my mouth, rather than just thinking things over and over - stuff moves in me when I've said it out loud and I just look like an average idiot talking on their phone, whereas when I was doing this sort of thing in 2005, people thought I was proper odd.

Oh and I'm making progress using logseq.com as a general note-taker and knowledge-organiser, getting my head around syncing between all my machines and thinking about tagging and workflow. Baby steps.

I have to have an early night though because I've got to be up for a gig first thing in the morning!