What Happened to Community?

in #community5 years ago

I Am Guilty

095a191f7d18dd32b31f633c5553f53a.jpg
I came on Steem to do art and build a community. I didn't want to create one, I figured that there were better artists out there and people with the knowledge to build it up. I simply wanted to find others with similar interests and ideas, to share with them. I remember not that long ago that there was an excitement to log on here. Then something changed. I have noticed it for a while and like many, I began writing less. I opted for other, more social and active websites. I haven't been on here in a couple of months and I return to see that Steem is still this sort of barren landscape on the internet.

Who to Blame?

Of course... we all want to blame someone... something...

But is there really anyone to blame?

Is there really a downhill spiral here on Steem that is causing the whole concept to lose steam? Is this is a temporary dip or have people just gone elsewhere? Is there another platform that offers the same hope and excitement that was here when Steem first started?

I am not looking to point fingers. I am looking to rekindle that flame. Mainly because I thought this whole site was a great idea. I miss the community and the people talking. I miss the debates, the art, the new bands I would find and many other things...

Suggestions

Perhaps I am simply looking in the wrong place or navigating this site poorly. I am not going to argue with anyone that says that perhaps my own lack of motivation is user error. Am I doing something wrong? If you know of any active pages on here, posters of interest that still hang out on the block chain or anything else that maybe I could be doing to increase activity on here... I am all ears.

In the mean time... I don't know... I figured posting something was good. Maybe someone will take notice.

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

Maybe someone will take notice.

Someone did. Me. I'd like to think of myself as pretty active, on Steem and in my art. Please come and see what I'm about.

I miss the community and the people talking.

Steem is not Facebook. As I see it, it's a blogging site, not so much a community thing. A lot of people may have left as the financial rewards are slow in coming. "Get rich quick" it's not, that may disappoint many.

I'm active aswell.
Maybe the reason why people are not it's because the price of the currency. Im also un the same situation. Another thing, try to find servers on discord thats where all the people chat and share links.

Congratulations @nudishprudist! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!