MORE MAIL FROM THE STEEMIANS!

in #community6 years ago

IMG_2971.JPG

This was some amazing mail!


Three months ago, I made a post about my desire to grow some Asian persimmons here on my homestead. Since I have wild American Persimmons already growing, I am hoping to graft in some scions from Asian varieties. Two popular ones are Kaki and Fuyu. When I made my post, @haphazard-hstead mentioned that they grew Fuyu, and would be willing to send me some cuttings once the tree went dormant. That was exciting news, especially with how much my @little-peppers enjoy them.

Then, the west coast para-glider @captainobviou3 messaged me to get my shipping address. Why was a mystery to me, but yesterday I found out!

MAIL CALL VIDEO!

CONTINUOUSLY BLOWN AWAY!

C'mon people! Can you believe stuff like this? First of all, how amazing is it to have people take the time to create personalized gifts for you like this amazing one from @captainobviou3? You have no idea how much it means to me that someone would go through all of that effort and then pay to have it shipped all the way to me.

IMG_2973.JPG

And then we have things like this! Sure, I can dream of grafting in Asian persimmons, but then when someone offers to ship you some for free and throws in Ginko Biloba seeds for free on top of it, how amazing is that. I've really appreciated @haphazard-hstead and their role and involvement in the community, and if I am able to grow some persimmons from their trees on my own trees, how cool would that be? Thanks so much to all of you, and steem on!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-amazing-mail

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I'm glad you got that package in good shape. Get those persimmon scions in the refrigerator! Check them every now and again -- if they get any mold, soak them in water with a touch of bleach. And then get them back in the refrigerator -- the cold part. They are best held at temperatures in the 30s, until you are ready to graft.

For the Gingko seeds, here's more about how I foraged them and got the nuts out. I boiled some and used them in a Chopped Salad with Olives, Jerusalem Artichokes, Wild Bittercress, and the Gingko Nuts. They are great pan-roasted, too. I used some yesterday for a crazy cucumber dessert with foraged and homestead plants. Of course, you can plant them, too -- but it will take 30-40 years before you see any harvests from the female trees. It's faster to find some mature trees growing in an old neighborhood, lol. I'll be posting more ways to eat Gingko nuts, too. I'm looking forward to your review of them! :D

Steemit is a great community and the Steem blockchain offers so many opportunities for folks. Happy homesteading - and foraging, too! :D

Wow! Very cool! Thanks SO MUCH!

Good deed follows you close.
Keep on sharing the beautiful land and inform us about LIFE
You have so many series that show your dedication for all steemians.
It is pay back time. Enjoy it.
Keep on steemin'

nice name

Wow, this is really great. I love your high level of commitment to what you do. Passion defines you

thank you, I appreciate the compliment.

Uwc sire. Much love

That's awesome! Very kind of them to help you out. Fuyu persimmons are one of my favorite fruits. I love persimmon season! I hope they work out for you.

I hope that they work out too! Thanks!

At least you are not getting weird mail. All cool stuff is welcome!

It is all some really cool stuff. I'm glad it's not getting weird, thanks!

Be careful with the ginkgo seeds, you don't want to plant a female, perhaps start them in containers until you know what sex it is, the females are supposed to stink like vomit.

Nice one keep going papa

Thanks, these guys are amazing around here!

that is so cool of @captainobviou3

thats the thing about steemit, we make great friendships on this platform and meet people who influence our lives positively .

That customized gift is really cool.

I can't but appreciate the great work you and your team put into getting things done. It's really awesome

success always make you @papa -pepper please support me

that is so cool of @captainobviou3

thats the thing about steemit, we make great friendships on this platform and meet people who influence our lives positively .

That customized gift is really cool.

Steemit has made us to be more of a family here.
Steemit rocks

It certainly has! Thanks!

the little peppers are growing so big, they are demolishing those persimmons, you better hurry papa-pepper and get a supply going for them. :)

I'm hurrying, I'm hurrying!

The Steemit community really knows how to rally together, doesn't it? We have certainly been enjoying the cultivation of friendships here too! -Aimee

Excellent very interesting, @ papa-pepper, your project to plant trees, the Faith is the certainty of what is expected and the conviction of what is not seen (Hebrew 11).

I LOVE PERSIMMONS. HIGHLY UNDER RATED FRUIT!!

Did you know you can make drink out of ground persimmons.just roast it first then boil it.

We have a persimmon - a delicacy. When your children grow up, a super persimmon will grow in your yard!

Glad it survived the mail system. Enjoy your sign. My wife @erin-michiels made that sign by hand. She loves that stuff. Thanks for always bringing a positive message.

It's awesome seeing the love you have here on Steem. It's all about the relationships!

that's beautiful! that's community! :)

A job awesomely done Papa

Totally awesome, @papa-pepper! Steemit never ceases to amaze me. There are not enough words to describe what takes place here. It is definitely like no other platform. Let us ensure that it continues to grow!

Seen your post aways put questions in my mind,how do you manage your time to accomplish all of these everyday!... Your posts are super quality,you are a writer,a farmer and you teach the world of God so accurately... Sire,i dont know how to describe you,but thank you for being you.

extraordinary daily work @ papa-pepper. as good breeders and planters in the real world. I am glad to see you share it for us on this Flatform. I think you have been successful in your investment both in steemit and in your real life.

That is epic. papa-pepper is the man!

There is a saying that's when you do good it comes back to you, No matter how long it takes.
And that's what I seen you've done with @tojukaka . The fact that you took the time to write him a hand note was very spiritual thing.

Congratulations also on your gift!

May you continue to do all the good you doing for the Steemit community,🤛🏾

I love Asian persimmons. Hope you get bountiful harvest soon. What kind Steemians there are in the community!

What a great gift! You are going to have beautiful trees.
I wanted to know who I am new is not a lot of steempower to organize contests.
I wanted to make a challenge with a gift of seed bags for the garden, for the winner.
Do I have the right?

I wasn't really inspired by this post! It shows the power of intention and connections. Best of luck with the grafting. I've yet to get Asian varieties, but I just picked up scions from 5 names American cultivars. What grafting method will u use?

Loading...