You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive vs Steemit vs anything else ...one of you better figure out how to matter

in #community4 years ago

It's funny, now that you mention it, that it IS tough to find good, creative content on the chain. I put in a lot of search time trying to find creative folks to follow and support, but it ain't easy. In addition, I plug away, making posts every day, a book review here, painting there, short story-poem-freewrite-comic this time, music playlist or something similar the next... And I do pretty well and feel I get decent support, but it took a LOOOOOONG time to get to where I felt like anyone noticed what I was doing. Most SANE folks, who are making creative content to get PAID and not because of some PSYCHOTIC compulsion, are going to try their hands here for a few weeks, post some quality work, see it get ignored or (much worse) downvoted, and say, "Screw this. It's not worth the effort."

I probably would have given up in the first two months if I GAF about making money. The amount of work it takes to get noticed (not JUST on here) is disproportionate to the reward, whether that be economic OR simple gratification based entirely on "eyeballs reached."

My hope/plan is to keep accumulating Hive Power until MY vote is worth something, then go around upvoting all the creative folks I can find who need a boost---maybe even throwing them some "tip money," now that Peakd has made that option available, (I haven't tried it, yet, but I will soon,) and I'm going to use all of my magickal and psychic powers to HEX the shitheads who try to suppress the artists and writers and creative folks on the platform... That's my plan.

By the way, if anyone wants to form an ART and CREATIVE TYPE vigilante/gang/coven/guild with me to encourage and protect artists on the chain, and be all spooky and intimidating to the haters, I will eagerly join or help form such a group!

Sort:  

Oh, I'm with ya.
and as far as this "The amount of work it takes to get noticed (not JUST on here) is disproportionate to the reward, whether that be economic OR simple gratification based entirely on "eyeballs reached."
you can get there...you get a small piece of the pie. If it's a large and growing pie then it's worth the effort. That IF is my concern here.
Many of us put in a solid effort in good faith on Steemit, and for us...the difference between Ned and Justin was un-noticable. So for OUR proposes these powers that where split a site in two...if they don't have a plan, and execute it, to make the user base grow here...they can say goodby to many of us. and what will they have then? I crypot fan club with a currency worth about as much as the Bolivar