SteemSavvy Member Spotlight - @MyTechTrail

in #community5 years ago

Member Spotlight (6).png

Developing a project like SteemSavvy has been more rewarding than you could imagine. It's amazing to meet such a diverse group of people that join this community and start adding so much value to it...People from so many different backgrounds, niches and life experiences....

About a month ago we met Randy, better known as @MyTechTrail on the SteemSavvy Discord. And from day one, I knew this guy was special.

He started taking part in so many discussions within the community. He also began welcoming new members to the Discord when they joined. And also showed up on the Sunday Sessions with a smile from ear to ear....

He was the EXACT description of the Steemian I was trying to connect with when I came up with the idea for SteemSavvy in the summer of 2018...A new Steemian that was eager to learn all they could while growing WITH the community every step of the way...

Ladies and gentlemen...Let me introduce you to....

@MyTechTrail



Who is MyTechTrail? A little bit of background on your journey so far…



I am a guy who has been dabbling in computers for over 40 years. I made my living supporting computers for 30 years and still want to come home to play with them. Back in 2012 I descovered the Raspberry Pi and as I had just changed jobs I decided to attempt to do some blogging about the experience, so I named the blog My Technology Trail. When I joined STEEM I had to shorten the name so now my online handle is mytechtrail.

You joined the blockchain in October 2017….What drew you to Steem and how did you discover it?



I was an avid watcher of YouTube and an off grid channel I followed said checkout this new thing called STEEM, where you could actually get paid to participate. I thought as I was attempting to blog (poorly) I would give it a try.

I lurked around for a couple of months checking it out and bumped into the Platforms community on Discord where I met @rishi556 (Princess on Discord) who gave me a few gentle pushes to engage and as they say the rest is history.

Recently you reached minnow status…How important is it for Steemians to put some skin in the game?



Suprising myself I had just powered up to 100SP last week, when @jongolson was talking about how important it was to have some skin in the game. I realized the that to truly push my efforts harder forward I needed to actually invest in myself.

As a Canadian it can be hard to buy crypto, but being part of the awesome SteemSavvy community where I met @jongolson and trusted him enough to send some cash to get converted into STEEM. I took the plunge and as a birthday present to my self acquired 415 STEEM which when powered up pushed me over 500SP and turned me into a minnow.

Which dApp is your favourite and why?



@Partiko

Interesting story, a number of years ago I just about burned myself out pushing myself too hard as a computer consultant. Living with one eye on my phone constantly waiting for the next phone call or email to come in. I changed jobs and stopped doing email or anything else on the cellphone other than phone calls. So I only wanted to interact online from my computer when I felt I would not be taxing myself.

I joined the STEEM community and was starting to get engaged a lot when I heard about Partiko. I tried it, turned off notifications so I could check on my timetable and fell in love with how simple it made engaging with other Steemian’s, but NOT taking over my life.

If you could share one piece of advice for someone who just joined STEEM, what would that be?



Well here I would ask that you post the awesome image @pixiepost created for me last night. In my interactions with the SteemSavvy community on Discord I had this thought which answers your question and I have used a number of times in recent conversations.

MyTechTrail.png

And finally, you are very active in the SteemSavvy Discord, how important is community and networking with others in those kind of environments?



Well as I have said a couple of times above and the image is an awesome display of the outcome. I would not be where I am on my STEEM journey without the encouragement and engagement of others on Discord.


Man it's been so awesome to get to know you over the past month and can't thank you enough for adding so much to the SteemSavvy Discord community!

And congrats on hitting Minnow status too last week..That is beyond awesome :)

Also, for being featured as this week's Savvy Steemian, we've sent you a 25 Steem Power delegation that is your for as long as you want it!

Thank you so much for adding so much value to our project and community.

If you would like to follow @MyTechTrail you can do so on STEEM and also on the SteemSavvy platform.

Untitled design (42).png

Sort:  

Great to see MyTechTrail featured on SteemSavvy as he has been crushing it not only on Steem but discord as well.
It is great to see the results that can happen with SteemSavvy.

Posted using Partiko iOS

For sure man....Just amazing to see like minded people get together and growing something special!

Thanks for all the kind words. Awesome community to be part of.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree with you comment about @partiko

"fell in love with how simple it made engaging with other Steemian’s, but NOT taking over my life."

Partiko-Partner @frankcapital will also match a 25SP delegation for as long as you want!

Thank you for sharing your story @mytechtrail and a BIG THANK YOU for being part of the partiko-community

💪😎☝

Onwards and upwards,
@frankcapital
Partiko Partner

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW, thank you gentlemen @jongolson and @frankcapital🤯🤯

Posted using Partiko Android

That is pretty awesome man. Thank you!!

👍😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for being a part of this man, I appreciated it a ton!

Nice to meet you Randy!
I hope that we will have some good discussions here on Steem and Discord in the future!

Thanks for interview Jon.

We'll figure out the time zones yet ;) lol

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Good news from @steemsavvy again!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks very much, yup we're making moves forward....Very excited with everything that's taking place!

Congrats on Minnowhood! That is such a great step as I recall it is what led me to become more active and engaged! I quickly learned the benefits of being consistent as my account started to grow rapidly!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Best advice in the world man....Being consistent is the game breaker!

What an awesome interview @mytechnologytrail. You are such an important part of our Steem Savvy community as well as Steem itself. I am blessed to know you.

Thank you @jongolson for highlighting our members each week. It's such a great way for others to know who we are & for showing how diverse we all are with a common ground - #steem. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

So many awesome people....Think I'm going to bug @cryptofiloz next LOL ;)

Great idea! 🙌❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome Randy. Sounds like a great Success story. Thank you Jon for highlighting some promising young talent :)

Thanks man. Appreciate the comments :)

Congratulations @steemsavvy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!