You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive vs Steemit vs anything else ...one of you better figure out how to matter

in #community4 years ago

I agree that Steem failed to achieve its potential and Hive may struggle too. At least with Steem there was a company who could have promoted it, but they failed at that. With Hive we have a group of random people running things by consensus. It remains to be seen if any of them can do any sort of marketing.

I've done what I can, but my reach is limited. I've signed up maybe 20 people. Not all of them stick around. Despite being one of the few places where anyone can earn something we struggle to gain and retain users. That's partly down to usability, but lack of community is a factor.

I notice your own site does not have a Hive link yet. You have a few thousand followers across various platforms. If a third of them have you votes on Hive it would add to something, especially if they invested a little money in it, for which they could get a return.

I fully understand that content creators will go where the audience is, but maybe its worth directing fans where they can go to give financial support. If a few people like you each bring a few thousand fans to Hive and start earning better then it may get some attention. It has to start somewhere.

I am not a marketing person and I am not selling anything myself, so this is just conjecture on my part. I can appreciate that people have finite time to create stuff and interact with fans. I admire that you have persisted with the blockchain stuff and you have definitely entertained me.

Cheers.

Sort:  

I've got close to 10,000 followers across the various platforms and an email list larger than that, but I'll be fucked if I'm going to plug this mess until the powers that be start showing the creative community some respect, or at least take a smart pill and start understanding that we are the one's that make or break a site.

It's a bit of a dilemma, as it really needs someone with your sort of following to make the leap and really push Hive to give it a kick. The 'powers that be' may not be organised enough to do what is needed. We need to go viral through building niche communities. It will just spoil it if some malicious whale flags stuff.