You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Surfers On Steem: This One's For You!

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Hey @spozone! Thanks a lot for your kindness and thought-provoking story. From the botton of my heart I can only recommend everyone on this world spend as much time as possible on the beach - to me it's become kind of a security zone, a place where I'm free (as you perfectly stated).

They might be able to build walls arround us but, they won't ever be able to take away our love for the Ocean :-)

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Seriously. I spent 5 yrs living on the beach in a make shift gypsy wagon of sorts. The memories will certainly last a lifetime. The saying "stay by the sea, safe as can be" has real meaning to me. So many nights, lulled to sleep by the incessant roar of the waves. So many mornings awoken by the laughter of the sea gulls. With hindsight I realize how truly blessed I am to have lived such a romance. I became such a part of the scenery that the mother deer was OK with her farm eating right outside my window and the Cheshire coyote pup would come visit each night in search of a handout and just sit there staring at me as if he wanted to talk.
I cursed the cold, I cursed the wind, I screamed ugly nasty things at God and He laughed at me alongside the gulls. I lost everything I held dear to me there including my sanity. In the end I walked away one day, left my house and took only a small bag of belongings and a new improved version of me, a version uniquely modified by the sands of time indeed.
In closing this thought I bid you blessing and brighter days of joy for hope does spring eternal and I leave you this picture of one of those mornings when I woke up, stepped foot outside my door and said Wow! Thank you God for another day so full of possibilities.
20150910_074602.jpg