You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ancient Practice of Gleaning

in #community5 years ago

Great post! I consider food waste to fall directly under the Sin of Gluttony, as it were. Last July I was at 73kgs, which at 5' 10" and very broad framed, made me look like a stick-figure. I was literally wasting away. I was eating cast-off food from the hotel where I was employed full-time. I was on the run from an abuser and managed to sweet-talk my (new) landlady into letting me pay her the deposits over time, effectively doubling my rent for the summer... So don't ever let anyone tell you that food-insecurity comes from lazyness.. That's bullshit.

And when I see grotesque landwhales stuffing themselves with chemically-engineered food-like structures, and leaving their plates half-full before going into diabetic semi-comas... I am filled with rage. Because I used to be one of them... I used to be -exactly- like that, before one of my bargains was kept and I found myself plummeting yet again toward The Kingdom of Butterflies...

I'm in a somewhat different situation now.. semi-homeless but well-fed, and very thankful. I'm now at 99kgs (and slightly embarrassed about it) but I'm working it into muscle and again, very thankful... The Three and One provide. Summer will come and then I'll be right back to eating weeds and saving my $$$ for lean times.

Again, thanks

Silas Danois