Steemitbloggers | Ready, Set, Write (Results)

in #community6 years ago (edited)



Ready, Set, Write (Results)


This is our new contest and this time, we have the generous @steveblucher to be our guest judge for this week's contest. Not only that, he will be sponsoring 6 STEEM into our Steemitbloggers' reward pool. This is not the first time that @steveblucher has donated into our prize pool.

Thank you very much!! Please do head over to his profile and give him some support and love back will ya?

Anyways, this contest is by him as well. This is a 'creative writing contest' called Ready, Set, Write. What does this mean? This means that you will be given 6 sentences and you have to pick 1 sentence to start off your story. We wanted to see how people's minds and different perspective comes into play on this. How each author expanded from just the sentence.



Ready, Set, Write

Guest Judge :

@steveblucher

 

Story starters:

  1. "I awoke this morning, sweat pouring down my brow..."

  2. "If only I hadn't said..."

  3. "By the time I reached the train station, she/he was gone."

  4. "One of the biggest secrets of my life was going to be revealed."

  5. "The subway stopped suddenly inside the tunnel."

  6. "The cemetary was rather quiet on my annual visit."

 

Criteria :

  1. Pick ONE sentence only to start off.

  2. You can also END with the sentence.

  3. Post must not be less than 350 words.

  4. You may use photos/pictures/drawings for better illustration.

  5. Go forth my fellow authors and make Steemitbloggers proud!

 

Submission :

  1. Your Entry is to be done as a STEEMIT POST tagging 'steemitbloggers'.

  2. Post title must have '(Steemitbloggers Contest)'.

  3. Share your Steemit Post link under this channel.

  4. You can think of your own title.

 

Rewards :

Winner : 3 STEEM

2nd : 2 STEEM

3rd 1 STEEM

 

Deadline :

Saturday Night, 29/09/2018, 11.59PM (GMT+8) / 5.59PM (Cape Town) - Contest ENDED



The Entries & Results!


We both loved all of the entries as they were really good but one stood out and that @steveblucher and I have agreed that it was quite 'clever' that this author seamlessly included all prompts into this contest. Trying to force it is one thing but this all lined up perfectly. I know you guys are waiting for the winner and here it is!
Winner (3 STEEM)

The Witch by @kaerpediem



I awoke this morning, sweat pouring down my brow...

and I knew it had happened again. I thought I had it under control. I checked my phone. The date showed 29th September. Damnit!! Two days. Two missing days. Where did I go? Why can't I remember anything. When did I put on this dress? I hate this dress. Red!!...

1st Runner-up (2 STEEM)

The Expedition by @fromage


Just how long ago this had happened was unclear. Through a sea of connection errors and ancient runes, Prin's headsup placed it anywhere between four to seventeen thousand annuals before. This far from the Pit it was essentially worthless. The entire tunnel was windless, exposed to vacuum as the display put it. Even the bodies remained preserved. They look...juicy. Ugh, I wish I hadn't thought that...
 

2nd Runner-up (1 STEEM)

PLAGUED by @sgbonus


I awoke this morning, sweat pouring my brow. I looked out the window to a dull new world that has been carelessly bestowed upon humanity. As I stand there, a dry breeze began running through my skin, I see smog covering the landscape like a blanket, I felt the heat emitting from the scorching fires in no man's land. Yet everything remains silent. Has my turn finally come to become one of the plagued?


Honorable Mentions (0.5 SBD Each)

Circles in time by @wales


I awoke this morning with sweat pouring down my brow, and thought: is there nothing different where I swim every day for my hunger I asked of myself. When no answer came I burned down the gates to remove it from my memory and hailed a taxi to take me away.

I did this many times until I knew it was of no use, and by then a lot of time had passed.

Meaning of Life by @bafi


source
November, 3rd. A windy, rather cloudy day. It's the 8th year my grandfather passed away and I'm still standing here. I'm remembering the talks and the laughs, the highs and the lows. Why didn't I spent more time with him instead of always over-pursuing for my carrier?

If only I hadn't said... by @ireenchew


source
Having worked in the hospitality industry, many would claim that they have encountered many strange & unexplained supernatural experiences. That was always the most interesting story to share during the gatherings of hoteliers. And don’t we all love a juicy story that involves the world beyond our understanding. There was one that I recall vaguely shared by a fellow colleague. This happened many years ago but never made it to the headlines of the local media...


Congratulations


Thank you for sending in your awesome entries once again for @steemitbloggers weekly contest. We love your constant support and participation from all of you for this weekly contest. Also, a big THANK YOU to @steveblucher for this brilliant contest idea and for agreeing to judge AND generously sponsoring the week's reward pool. Stay tune for the next contest announcement, I'll see you all in the @steemitbloggers contest channel. :)

Want to join our awesome family?

If you want to be part of this awesome community, @steemitbloggers is always interested to meet people with amazing personalities and great content creators. If you want to know how to join us? Head on over to @jaynie, our Steemitbloggers founder profile and be on the lookout for an invitation link post.

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,Logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

DQmSqueeD2Az1he74iEMgj9jEAFHoQCfwkp99qDWB1q2Vxy_1680x8400.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.vornix.blog/2018/10/01/steemitbloggers-ready-set-write-results/

Sort:  

Love the variety in the contests here on #steemitbloggers @zord189. I hope to enter this one but am commenting now as a result of the #steemitbloggers support programme.

Hahaha, we have a new contest up which I hope that you can join as well. :)

oooo fun I love this kind of stuff!

You should join for the next!! Am gonna announce it soon in the discord

Congratulations to all winners !!!
Many thanks to @steveblucher @jaynie and of cos @zord189 for organising this great contest once again.
Can't wait for the next one 😊

Thank you for being so supportive!~ Everytime joining the contest :D hehe

While I still have the flexibility of time.. I will most definitely join. Your next giphy contest, I can join already..ha ha

Congratulations to all the other winners! Thank you so much Steemitbloggers family for hosting all this fun contests and for all the support!

Steem on!

Congratulations to you as well!

This calls for two gifs!


via GIPHY

and


via GIPHY

Exactly!!!! The queen has spoken and her word is always final. :)

Thank you! Thank You! ThAnK YoU!! @steveblucher, @jaynie & @zord189
I'm on a high right now!!
It's great way to get back into the swing of things with all the unrest HF20 brought with it.
Congratulations to all the winners...which really is all of us because we all get something
❤️@steemitbloggers❤️

What a good way to start HF20 Steemit huh? Looking forward for more of your amazing entries you amazing gem of a writer. :)

A big thank you to those who entered. There was such a superb mix of very entertaining stories. I thoroughly enjoyed reading them all. Such a diverse range of writing styles made each so interesting in its own way.

Well done everyone!

Couldn't agree more that @steemitbloggers has a very diverse range of writing styles. All very unique in their own way.

Bummer I missed this contest looks like it was a lot of fun! Now that I'm back I'll have to keep my eyes open for more! :D

No worries, I just posted the new contest under #steemitbloggers-contests! go check it out

Thanks so much!

Congratulations! :)