You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ecoTrain Question Of The Week Responses: "What is the greatest gift you have ever given or could give". Read 6 great answers and post one yourself for the chance to win from $5 - $40 SBD!

in #competition7 years ago

I can't make it to the location in time to make a post about it this week, so I'll just write a brief comment about it. I don't expect a comment to win anything...

When I was in my tween years, there was a canyon near my house that was being threatened with development. Because I have always been a steward of my planet, I felt that the land between the homes that was filled with nature should be left to nature.

I circulated a petition on notebook paper. My friends and I walked door to door, thousands of houses surrounding the canyons, asking for legislation to protect the canyons from further sand mining and development. We explained to residents that the canyons provided a home to many animals and that these animals rely on the canyons to travel between Los Angeles and Mexico along their feeding cycles. If we removed the canyons, the animals would try to travel through urban areas and likely die off.

After successful circulation of the petition, I was able to dedicate the largest of the canyons to Taft Jr High School which still maintains part of the land as an educational resource for students. The entire space is now also preserved under the Canyons and Natural lands Protection Act.

Sort:  

wow! thank you So much for sharing this.. what an amazing success and indeed VERY great gift to the animals.. really nice to read some good stories like this! Anything is possible with great conviction!