You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the best book you've ever read competition! 25 SBD prize money!

in #competiton6 years ago (edited)

          This is going to be a great contest, and I am in, and I will be looking forward to Wednesday the 14th of February, because I like to read.

  1. The Warriors of Spider
  2. Written by: W. Michael Gear
  3. What the book is about: Known space was semi-conquered, and being run by 3 big-head(brained) individuals who controlled something called the Gi-net. The society is pretty much all sheep. Misfits are sent to the "Patrol" (the military). One day an automated ship picks up a radio signal that should not be there.
              They determine it to be a "lost colony" so an anthropological team is sent. "the descendants of humans stranded long ago by a starship crash had survived by becoming a race of warriors"1 they have an advantage, they have not one but four prophets.
              That is book one, this is a trilogy, and generally referred to as The Spider Trilogy by WM Gear.
  4. Why: Impact and Impression: W.M. Gear brings a concept of God, and prophecy to life in his telling of this story. It is not just about the strength of the individual, it is about what they are willing to give up to sacrifice for their people. This is a story that has changed my concepts and perception of not only what/who God is. When you go to meet God, what are you going to teach him, what are you going to show him you learned. I think his book has made me a better person, and aided my own search for better critical thinking.
  5. Book 1 The "Warriors of Spider" was the eye opener. If possible I think each book got a little bit better, but I think that is because of all the backstory and building of the characters in the first. "Warriors of Spider" will always hold a special place in my soul, and spirit. I read these books when they first came out in 1988 and 1989. I have re-read them on a yearly basis, generally just as winter is finishing in March time frame. Why do I re-read them, I love the God concept he presents., I love the characters, the scenery he paints with his words. The bear climbing up the cliff toward John Iron Eyes, the bayonet grass as it tears Leeta and Sarsa's feet as they escape from Big mans camp. Garcia Yellow Legs and his antics, Philip Iron Eyes.....oh so so many reasons I re-read this series.
    1 Source: https://www.gear-gear.com/the-books/spider-trilogy

Edited I think I got it all in there. Each book can stand alone as its own story, and there are references to some of his other Sci-Fi books in the stories which semi-tie those into the Spider Series.
Sort:  

I like your entry and arguments, but yes, the question is one book and despite the fact that it's a trilogy, it is still made up of 3 books. If you asked me to choose which book in Lord of the Rings is my favourite I'd have to say the Two Towers, if you'd ask me about the Game of Thrones, I'd have to get back to you as I'm just re-reading them. I will accept your entry if you can choose 1 title and argue why that one specifically.

Fair enough< I will edit to one book, and just note that it is a 3 book series, I figured as much so the edit won't be much, a couple of lines.