It's alive!

in #computer6 years ago

I just finished this build on stream, you can check out the build process here.

IMG_20180520_144818.jpg
Not gonna lie, I'm not the biggest fan of lighting in computers. Always felt they were super gaudy. But damn, this thing looks sexy!

IMG_20180520_144831.jpg

The liquid cooling will glow red when I'm done with this. At least, assuming I can figure out how to change that...

IMG_20180520_144838.jpg

Installing Windows! Huzzah!

IMG_20180520_144841.jpg

The monitors I used with my old computer only accept DVI or VGA. The GTX 1080 I bought only has 1 DVI port, and 3 display port connections. I wound up upgrading the monitors at the same time. Definitely worth it, though!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-20T20:05:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 387.90/200.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I'm not usually into this kind of thing, but gawd, what a BABE! What? No, I meant the pink Chun-Li action figure. Okay, the computer too. I might have issues.

Looks great! I'm guessing this computer is very powerful?
Not sure I could find room for one of those myself. I'm more used to carrying around cruddy laptops.lol

Most of the pieces are near the top of the line. The CPU is a few steps down, but if spending an extra $400 means I get an extra 1-2% of power increase, I'll take the slightly lower item.

I was looking at a Ryzen Threadripper 1900X before settling with the Ryzen 5 2600X. Would have only given me an extra 2-3 points on the benchmark scores, but would have cost an extra $400 between CPU and Motherboard. Here's the two compared side by side:

http://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/AMD-Ryzen-5-2600X-vs-AMD-Ryzen-TR-1900X/3956vsm340638

Nice setup, my oldest son is wanting me to help him build a computer... So while he's saving, I've got to study lol.

Building a computer now is much, much easier than it was 15 years ago. You'll do fine. Check out the stream on dLive, I broadcasted the build process!

Definitely will!

when we go back to singapore, my gf may always wanna build her own desktop! She wants to start streaming on twitch, and I think the laptop isn't sufficient firepower for that ahahah

Honestly, she needs to get on dLive if she wants to stream. I picked up a $22SBD upvote for the computer build stream last Sunday. I'm switching to dLive starting in June, it's far more profitable and I'm getting more engagement in the process.

ah serious! okay, i will let her know. I wonder if its possible to stream on both at the same time? I think we'll figure that out.

You could probably use restream.io, if you wanted to go that route...