Mechanical keyboard

in #computers7 years ago

Finally decided to get myself a mechanical keyboard. I just saw one selling for 60$ on newegg.com from G.Skill, decided to try it. I got this model: G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM570 MX.

IMG_0636.JPG

I rarely focus on keyboards. I just buy a reliable one that is comfortable to type on. In my case, I had an Apple keyboard since 2008. The wired thin model. I bought it cause I was an Apple fan back then. It kept running strong until I decided to change it now.

When I first learned about mechanical keyboards, they did not interest me. I did not see the point. They were aimed at gamers in the first place. Also the coloured LED made me feel as if they are aimed toward teenagers. Then few months ago, I started to watch YouTube videos about how good typing on a mechanical keyboard is. Until I decided to finally get one.

I am not fan of multi coloured RGB computer accessories, so I picked the one with single LED light color. Only with RED key lights. I picked RIP JAWS KM570. A very basic mechanical keyboard that does what is required to do.

IMG_1240.JPG

How does it feel?

The keyboard looks retro. The feel of the keys and the size of the keyboard itself is different. It is huge and thick. The keys are also elevated. However, I found my fingers surf through the keys with ease. It is also very satisfying to type on. It clicks great!

As a person who came from an Apple keyboard that is thin with keys that require the minimum key travel, I found the mechanical keyboard a pleasant change. The keys sink down, but you don't have to press all the way down. A slight press makes the key register.

apple Keyboard.jpg
My old trusty Apple Keyboard.

Another big difference that I noticed right away is the clicking sound. Now typing on a keyboard produces a classic keyboard sound that is so amazing. Unlike my old Apple keyboard which is almost silent. I found the clicking sound of the mechanical keyboard pleasant to hear, although loud but you will get used to it and forget it when you start typing away.

Num key? yes it has one.

Personally I like my keyboards to have a num pad, I can not work on Microsoft Excel without one. I also use it with calculator App.

There is also a LED effect that this keyboard has. It has light effects. there are several modes that you can choose from. One that acts like a wave that starts from left keys to the right keys. Other modes like lighting the keys that you just pressed and then the lights fad. There are other modes too. For me, I am not interested in lighting effects. I like my keyboard to have a backlight, that is activated when I press a key for all keys. I don’t like lighting effects. I feel it is a bit gimmicky.

Issue?

Yes, there keyboard is a bit lifted. I feel that it is higher than what I used before. For now, I am not feeling comfortable when I am typing for longer periods of time. I might get used to it, I might not. If I did not get used to it, I might get a hand pad that is placed before the keyboard so my hand can rest on it.

Other than that, I miss the Two USB ports that my old Apple keyboard had. This new mechanical keyboard has no USB ports. Maybe cause it is an inexpensive model? I am not sure.

Overall, Get a mechanical keyboard. Especially if you are a writer, or who loves to write on your computer occasionally, get one. You will not regret it.

Sort:  

Bienvenido a Steemit! Este Post puede tener muchos upvotes con la ayuda del King: @dineroconopcion, El cual es un Grupo de Soporte mantenido por @wilbertphysique, @yoenelmundo y 5 personas mas que quieren ayudarte a llegar hacer un Top Autor En Steemit sin tener que invertir en Steem Power.Te Gustaria Ser Parte De Este Projecto?

Welcome to Steemit! This Post can have many upvote's with the help of the King's Account: @dineroconopcion, It's a Support Group run by @wilbertphysique, @yoenelmundo, and 5 other people that want to help you be a Top Steemit Author without having to invest into Steem Power. Would You Like To Be Part of this Project?

votes.png

sure why not. But I would like to know more about this project.