You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking about to going back to school for a second Bachelor's... Computer Science Degree!

in #computerscience7 years ago

I agree with mvrr007. I didn't really learn much from traditional school that applies to the real world. I actually resent school sometimes because my mind could be on making money while I'm intellectually masturbating. The degrees go in the category of door openers and conversation pieces; I only followed through because I was already committed. In this market, people with certifications having to do with IT or medical spend less time in school making more money than the degree holder. I recently found out one of my friends that left nightclub management for long haul trucking was quietly getting wealthy. I only found out when he passed away suddenly, but his family is set for life as long as they don't go overboard spending.

Sort:  

yeah I felt the same way after I graduated with my first degree, to this day I still believe I wasted 6 years in college while I should've been working and getting real world experience. The only reason I want to go back, is for the science, I want to understand computers and computer science at a deeper lever and learn about the theory as well, the programming I can learn on my own, although being around other CS students will definitely be helpful to that discipline. This time I don't feel I'm going back to get a better job, although I want to get a job in the field, but more so, I want to go back for the computer science knowledge taught by a professional and work on projects that otherwise I won't be exposed to, I've tried the self learning method and it just hasn't worked out. for me. I appreacite your insight! I'm still in the contemplation phase and any feedback helps. Thanks!

I don't feel like my first go round in college was a wasted experience, but I would've buckled down and got the degree as quickly as possible. Like I said above, I found out later that when you don't have connections, "some college"= "no college". Employers assume you dropped out because it was too hard, not maybe there was a good opportunity on the table at the time. Going back after 11 years out got me up to speed on globalization, which was only mentioned in passing my first time in college. I used to be good at math, now i find I benefit from being in a group environment for math. It was also a good thing to be around the young energy. The benefit in being a returning student is being more focused on what you want to get out of being in school, like you said, now you want to work under a professional that can expose you to different projects. Wish you the best!