You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We went to Ghost concert in Oslo

in #concert2 years ago

It was! Especially after some gloom doom shit, it was very necessary. Even though Oslo wasn't the cheapest place to visit for a concert, no regrets! ^^

Ahaha! Nah. That is more me (since I enjoy a wide range of music), and I will make sure to drag him to a K-pop concert in future xD

Sort:  

I'd love to go to Oslo (more than just the airport) one day - though the drinks are expensive! :D

Next concert, Lemony might get hit in the face with a pair of underwear thrown into the crowd!

Are drinks as expensive in Finland as well or is it slightly better situation? We went to some bars in Oslo. They were cool, but we spent like a lot on a few drinks xD

Or a magic bra! ^^

Hey! I won't have to be dragged! I listen to all sorts of things too :P

It's not that I hate K-pop. I like some of it. You're a pretty serious BTS fan; there are things about them which I like and things I'm not as crazy about, both musically and otherwise. In short: I like that these boys aren't afraid to be cute, and I appreciate their choreography and videography. A lot of the music is really well-written and produced, but it's also trending a lot more toward familiar sound(s) than I'd have liked. I think generally the more something is like mainstream Anglophone popular music, the less I'm crazy about it because I've just heard enough of it to last a lifetime, you know? For me, most of the stuff I've been exposed to, from BTS anyway, is something to be watched, not listened to. Also, I think their fandom is a cringefest, albeit a mostly harmless one.

For @tarazkp's reference, here's a K-pop song I know you and I both enjoy:


And one more that I like, from Jimin himself:

Well, I dunno. BTS at least has some substance. There is like a whole story line going on not visible at the first glance if you don't go deeper into their music and videos. There's even time travel involved. I think they are all around artists, it is not just about music.

Well the fans might be cringefest, but without them BTS would not be here today and neither would Hybe.

Certainly. It's not just music, it's a whole entertainment experience. I can appreciate that. What's less impressive to me is the shameless cultivation and exploitation of parasocial relationships. There are absolutely tens of thousands of BTS fans, at least, for whom there is no space for healthy personal relationships with human beings. They act possessive and devotional about these strangers they'll never know personally; they craft entirely new realities in their minds, and this behaviour is not only tolerated but actively encouraged and exploited. It's good for business. That part sickens me a bit about it.

There are fandoms, and then there are cults, and then there are global hordes of obsessed followers, literally calling themselves ARMY, ready to throw themselves or their rivals off a cliff to prove their devotion to Yoon-gi.