Fictioneers Writing Contest - 20 SBD Prize! Man versus Man

in #conflictprompt7 years ago

Fictioneers Img.jpg


In all the confusion of moving to a new Discord server, tossing a metaphorical molotov cocktail into my hubby’s boss’s office, and attempting to seal every crack and crevice we can find in our rambling old restoration project before winter brings us sub-fifty degree indoor temps again this year, I’ve let the Conflict Prompt Contests slip away from me. My sincerest apologies and assurances that I did not just take the money donated for the prize pool and run.


My heists tend to be less subtle, if not more lucrative

The patient, kind, generous patrons who have donated to the cause: @darxide403, @geke, @carolkean, @jasonbu, @authorofthings, and @bex-dk, should have to wait no longer to see the newest Fictioneers Writing Contest go live. So polish up your prose, peeps and bring me your most creative 500 words (or fewer) using the prompt: Man versus Man. Person versus person if you prefer. This one is so broad and such a common theme, that I’m really excited to see what range of ideas are presented. I’m also looking forward to having a special guest to bring on Tuesday’s show, because the winner will be joining us to read their story live and discuss their inspiration, yada, yada.


Once we bring you on-air, you’ll be famous, so limber up your paparazzi punching hands

In other news, we moved. Yeah, I know, I bury the lead. The Fiction Workshop is now part of The Writers’ Block on Discord. We’ve grown so much in the past few weeks, it’s really amazing to see. We now have workshops for any kind of writing you can imagine: Screen and stage plays (thank you @pegasusphysics), poetry (thank you @geke and @sunravelme), technical writing (thank you @jasonbu) and non-fiction (thank you @anarcho-andrei). If people assume English is your second language when it’s not… if it is and you don’t want it to show in your writing… or if you just want to go that extra mile and present a polished, vetted, and well-formatted read to your audience, there is a place for you with us! Pop by and get started in our Nooby Nook, or read about what we offer in our “Welcome” post.

Okay, back to the contest! Rules are:

  • Entrants must upvote and resteem this post to help our future payouts in the contest.
  • Deadline for submission is 12 NOON EST, Monday, October 23.
  • Submissions must use the tag #conflictprompt so reviewers can easily find submissions. You may also link your submission in the comments, but if the tag #conflictprompt is not used, we cannot guarantee it will be included in the judging.
  • Must be a complete work. While the entries will be judged according to @SFT standards and @SFT does curate parts of longer works, entries to this contest must be stand alone.
  • Word count may be no more than 500 words. This allows for careful review, and challenges writers to make every word count.

Entrants are welcome to submit pieces to the Fiction Workshop on MSP PALnet; judges will be recusing themselves from critique. So get your thinking caps on and let’s see what Steemit can produce!


Listen to last weeks show here!






Sort:  

Man vs Man... this seems very broad subject and I think I can write s hort story for it... Hmmmmm.....

By the way is joining the SFT curators on steemian is the same way as a month ago? I now have account there and I wish to help you with some upvotes.

I hope you enter something! And we'd love and appreciate your support through the SFT curation trail. I believe it's still the same set up, but if you have any trouble finding it, let me know!

couldn't find sft in the first pages of steemit trailers.... umm... can you link me to it's page? the one like this one? https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/46

It's more likely on the very last page. I can't link you to it because you have to access it through your logged in account.

Hmm... nope, I've checked all the 35 pages and didn't find it (probably missed it)... can you tell me how follower does @sft have right now? it can make my search easier.

This is a little out of my wheelhouse and post comments aren't the best venue for tech support, lol. I've tagged Jasonbu over at the workshop to help you. He's sent you a DM. Good luck!

From 1050 words pared down to about 490. I hope you guys enjoy this.

Heroes

Congratulations! Winner, winner, chicken dinner ;)

Baked chicken, in fact! With potatoes, gravy, turnip greens and biscuits!
And maybe some local honey for dessert. Trishie's home! :D

Thank you!

Oh, looking forward to attempting this one! 500 words is tough, though - every word has to be worth using.

500 words IS tough lol. But I know you can do it and look forward to your entry!

Congratulations it's beautiful @jrhughes . Must feel great - that is a lot of work!

Nice work

Ok, here we go with my first entry to a fictioneers contest! Gladiator

Hi... This is my entry for the contest.... it was hard to make it to 500 words, and I still think the long version is better, but here's my try:

https://steemit.com/conflictprompt/@ahmadmanga/voice-of-a-princess-or-a-fantasy-short-story

Another great contest with a pretty challenging prompt. Here is my western themed entry: https://steemit.com/conflictprompt/@cizzo/the-man-in-black

I know this one wont count... But I just wrote it, and it VERY MUCH is a case of Man v Man. So if anyone is dying to read more... You may appreciate it! Thanks!!
https://steemit.com/fiction/@em3/tiny-house-infinite-love-art-writing-prompt-for-gmuxx