You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nostalgia For Traditional Conservatism

in #conservatism6 years ago

Hi @ekklesiagora!

I just found your blog and enjoyed reading this post. I haven't had time to go back too far in your writings, but I appreciate your distinction here between traditional conservatism and the alt-right. I think we can see the same lack of principles and "oppositional Theology" leading to the downfall of the American church, which makes sense considering the church is the rudder of the culture (Moby Dick).

I saw in another post that you mentioned Rushdoony. I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on Rushdoony's theonomy, which is bottom-up compared to the Scottish Covenanters' theonomy, which was more top-down. Do you mind sharing?

Sort:  

Just to clarify, I'm an atheist. So, I don't subscribe to any of these schools of thought. Cernelius van Til, who is the most important Christian thinker of all time, in my opinion, really influenced Rushdoony's thought. I've read some Rushdoony and it's an interesting perspective, but as an atheist and Darwinian, I really have to disagree with a lot of his stuff. When I was religious, I identified as a Christian anarchist and kind of had an alternative interpretation of theonony/biblical law that was anarchistic. Jacques Ellul and Vernard Eller were main influences in that anarcho-theonomist direction.

Thanks for the answer. I fall more on the Rushdoony side of theonomy rather than Gary North.