You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology Of Control & The Manufacturing Of Mainstream Culture

in #conspiracy6 years ago

The other day I caught an old episode of Hawaii Five Oh from the '70s and I could almost see my older relatives watching the show and expressing their very predictable reactions. The story was about young drug addicts and how benevolent the cops were in stopping their self-destructive behavior. I could see how stories like this shaped a fear of drugs that I saw in my parents and grandparents. I'm not here to cheerlead for drugs, but the fear-based manipulation was so apparent. And then I saw something I wasn't expecting: one of the cops was bemoaning the fact that these drugs didn't have a centralized supply mechanism. It was the decentralized nature of the free black market that was causing this problem, which could explain why many in my parents' and grandparents' generation also viewed decentralized freedoms as suspicious. So much of what is now politically correct got its start on "very special" episodes of 1970s TV dramas and sitcoms.

Sort:  

Hey @geke thank you for stopping by and leaving such a great comment, I really appreciate it! And yes so many of those programmes created the perceptual reality of our forebears who then through no fault of their own brought it into reality. I can really see where you're going with the tainted decentralised perception and I think that's a very valid point. Indeed you can look at the perception of our monetary system vs cryptos I'm often told that cryptos are an illusion .. well fair enough if you think that but then so is our money! Most of it has never existed, .. I think for every £1000 you have in the bank, the bankers are able to create £66,000 worth of debt. The debt exists as little more than numbers which they transfer over to your account or mortage when times are good and when they're (manipulated) bad they whack the interests rates up and take tangible assets i.e your house for money you owe that's never even existed .. we live in crazy times my friend. Thanks again.

Exactly - the idea that money needs the centralized control/regulation/definition that only government can provide, it's very much a belief I see in the elderly. And it goes way beyond '70s TV - propaganda became sophisticated when Edward Bernays started to employed his uncle's theories on mass behavior. (uncle = Sigmund Freud) anyway... I really enjoyed your post!