A big update

in #content4 months ago

A big update

I've decided to kill a couple things.

Why? For one funding and time. Both of which is either not present or at an exterem premium of cost for me right now.
There will probably be more to end soon. I am going to whittle everything down to my only presence on the web will be the DefluenceMe site I have yet to release to the world.

I will, for the time being, remain on X (Twitter) under the Defluenced account. Here on Hive I will post from this account (unklebonehead) my short form content through @dbuzz and the longer form content will be through @ecency with the @defluence.org account. Podcast and videos will remain at @cast.garden. So for content on Hive basically no real change, lol.

Discord

The discord server was deleted mainly because of inactivity. Granted it was my own inactivity at fault. I simply did not put the effort into growing and maintaining it. Plus I always kinda hated discord. I prefer Matrix for chatting. Mainly due to my principles of using of using open source software. Im even to the point of just deleting my discord account since I all I ever do on it is clear notifications. I find it annoying as hell for as little amount of real conversations I have on it. But there are a few people on there that it is the main source of content with them so I have to keep it for now.

Defluenced Radio

Im turning off Defluenced Radio as well. That decision has been really hard for me personally. I love music and will never go without it. It was run by a full stack of open source software so killing it was a very hard decision for me. I really do love all of the artists I played over the years. Especially the unsigned indie artists. I've always said that you will never hear or see more passion and better music than going to see a local artist. Because it's true. Their music comes from their hearts and souls. It is nothing like what you see or hear from these big corporate bands they push on Mtv & terrestrial radio. There is a reason the music all sounds the same. They are all cookie cutter bands and artists that a corporation tell you to like. Theres a reason why you cant watch a Kansas City Chiefs game and not see Taylor Swift on camera more than the damn football game. If she had to sing for her supper everyday she would starve to death. Without autotune she absolutely sucks more than a commercial vaccuum cleaner.

She always looks like shes farting in the microphone!

I digress,

The main reason(s) I am killing it is because the automation and streaming server was running on my home server in my house. That was tunneled to a 3rd party in an undiscolosed location that I didnt even know where it was. That was the stream you listened to. But the "now playing" information and artwork came directly from my home server. The site was hosted on github pages. So it was all pretty decentralized. My issue was that it was traceable back to my home server. And I do not want that to leak out. Not that it bothers me if someone found out my home ip. None of it has but there is no point in making a statement about holding to principles if you are willing to compromise them for a little fun and entertainment.

Principles coupled with the corporate music & entertainment industry that think they should control the rights of people to consume freely available content and the products they themselves own, have much deeper pockets than I would ever have to fight them with. So I'm not going to give them any kind of ammo to attack me or you with.

At least, not for now.

I've looked into decentralized streaming software previously and have found several. They all seem to work similar to the way bit torrent works and other p2p software works. But require the listener to install an app to listen. If I find one that works cross platorm, desktop & mobile I will fire up Defluenced Radio again.

Principles matter & we should all hold to them!

Sort:  

A shame bro but big up your badself!

Thank you!

Posted via D.Buzz