Update on the challenge/contest thingy I'm working on!

in #contest6 years ago

The contest I've been working on which I call the.."Information Finding Championship" is probably starting tomorrow!

Waiting right now for a piece of artwork and for voting power to get to 100% I plan to hopefully post sometime around noon tomorrow Mountain Standard time.
Though no promises.. Just be on the lookout. :)

I've been spending a ton of time working on this and I'm having a ton of fun as well.
It's really been rewarding to me to draw out this creativity and hopefully it draws enough people to make it really worth it and fun.

At first it was going to be 200 steem for grand prize, then it became 150 steem for grand prize and the rest split up among 2nd place 3rd place and the judges.
And now I'm wondering if I should lower it more and make it 100 steem just to sort of test the waters with all this and to not invest more into this than I can handle long term.

Though.. I still haven't decided.. I really wanna do 150 steem much more and I feel like that extra 50 steem will help pull some more people to compete..
Ultimately I haven't decided whether the grand prize willbe 100 or 150 or something else, but.. It will probably be one of those two numbers!

I wanna do this challenge for years to come, so I don't wanna over extend myself so to speak, but I sort of have a feeling I'll earn it all back and more eventually in the long run.. So..
I dunno.. Anyways.. Moving on!
Here are some of the challenge ideas I have.. Do you have any to suggest?

#1 Photography Challenges
#2 Poetry Challenges
#3 Meme Challenges
#4 Joke Challenges
#5 Funniest Selfie Challenges
#6 Essay Writing Challenges
#7 Philosophy Challenges (Still not sure how I'm going to structure this one)
#8 Music Challenges
#9 Short Story challenges
#10 Drawing/painting challenges
#11 Best quotes challenge
#12 Free style lyric battles, text or video/audio are accepted.
#13 Occult challenges (Still not sure how I'm going to structure this one)
#14 Etymology challenges (Still not sure how I'm going to structure this one)
#15 Cutest animal picture challenge (Self explanatory I hope, lol.)
#16 Show and tell (Share a picture of something from that has sentimental value to you and tell a story about it)
#17 Bonus/Luck/gambling round (Not totally sure how this one will work yet)
#18 Craziest conspiracy theory challenge (Person who comes up with or discovers the craziest conspiracy theory wins this round)
#19 Alien challenge (Not sure how this one will work yet but I wanna try to make a challenge around this subject)
#20 Angel challenge (This is a good deeds challenge, whoever does the most charitable and kind and loving thing wins this round)
#21 Guessing price of steem, bitcoin or other coins in a certain timeframe challenge.
#22 Riddle challenges
#23 Best ideas to help the planet.
#24 A round for the judges. (In honor of the Judges they get the steem from this specific challenge split between them)
#25 Multiple choice adventure challenge (Sorta like the one papa-pepper did, but I'm thinking.. Maybe a zombie apocalypse theme)

Final round is going to be a 1v1 challenge with top two remaining competitors.
During the Final Round it will be best 3 out of 5 wins for the grand prize!
Each final round between the two remaining contestants will be different and unknown until that point in time.

epic.jpg
Art of me done by Joshua Clement on Facebook.

Sort:  

          When it comes to the selfie challenge I hope that you will do like papa-pepper and allow obscured/hidden/masked selfie's. Not everyone wants to put a real picture of themselves out there, because of work, stigma, or any number of reasons people don't want to be "out there". If you intend on a prize at each level, or periodic levels, ie:lvl 5, 10, 20 excetera, then you may want to keep that in mind when coming up with a final prize, maybe make the final prize a portion of all the payouts upto the prize point, that way you do not over/under estimate participation and contest value. Good list though.

That's some awesome advice thank you so much! In regards to the selfie challenge, sure! It may be more difficult for someone to get a funny selfie with a mask, though.. I am totally open to that!
What you said that really made a spark go off in my brain though is.. I really wanted to make a way to have a level system where people could level up, but I wasn't quite sure how.. And I think thanks to your comment I may have just figured it out!! Awesome! And yes.. This may make me want to lower the initial prize to make it more of a "build up" to bigger prizes later.. BUT.. Regardless of that.. I definitely think i want to try to add an element of leveling up somehow! That would make it a lot more personable and customized! Sweet! Thanks so much! I gave you my highest amount of upvote I could even though I'm trying to recharge right now, just because your idea was so important to me!

This is awesome.. This just entered a whole new level of awesome! I still need to figure out the details more.. But you got the gears turning! Cheers bashadow!

PS Also I like your last idea in regards to payouts as well, I will consider that.. It may be more difficult that way in terms of keeping track of everything.. Though definitely something to ponder and think about for a while!

You are welcome, and as for the big upvote, thanks but really was not needed. a $0.050 would have been just fine or no vote just fine also, just trying to help. You are getting ready to do something big for the users of steemit, I think that is a worthy goal.

I appreciate your humbleness though I would like to award you the full upvote. I feel like you helped inspire me to make this whole competition a lot more fun! And yeah.. It's definitely a goal I feel passionate about.. I hope it works out and that steemit is still going good in a couple years and I'm still doing this challenge years from now. :)

YEAH, that's a great piece of advice, to make levels!

The list you have compiled is indeed inspiring. Especially the point number 20 which focuses on helping others and giving charity is a unique idea and I appreciate it so much. I would love to participate in every contest that you gonna do. Best of luck.

Glad to hear you think so! And especially appreciate how you made a specific mention in regards to the helping others/charity idea. I think that's an important part and I tend to vibe with other people who feel similar about such kinds of things! I'm gonna go to your blog shortly and check it out and if I like what you post I'm going to give you a follow cause I wanna surround myself with more people who feel similar about trying to help others. Cheers mmasim.

Thank you so much, sir. It is so nice of you that you not only said some very lovely words for me but also upvoted me. Will definitely stay in touch and will help out others too. I am so happy to be in your company. God bless you.

Yup! You're welcome. Looking forward to interacting with you more in the future. All the best to you.

loved your idea for the contest!!!! I will be engaging in it for sure! good luck and keep in touch

Awesome! Glad to hear! :) Thanks for the good luck and look forward to seeing you again soon in the contest! Cheers marcelsantos!

Maybe you should put some bucks to promote this contest post. To get more followers. What do you think?

Good idea! Except.. I'm going to be posting the actual challenge pretty soon here.. In probably around 8 hours so I might as well just use the SBD I have to promote the actual challenge itself.

Thanks for the idea though! I haven't promoted anything in a while as I never really noticed it help that much, but.. I might as well try for the contest since it's sort of a big deal! And all the extra participants will make this more enjoyable for everyone I think.

I hope your every plan and challenges will be successful, and yOu get mOre and mOre you deserve. Joshua Clement make yOur sketch awesome.

I also draw sketches, painting. If yOu're interested I'll be make your sketch :)

Wow that was really nice of you to say. :) Glad you liked the artwork and that's cool you sketch and paint also! I'll keep that in mind!

Alright!

@apolymask,
#5 Funniest Selfie Challenges
I like this idea! Very rare in STEEMIT platform! So, let's try this one!

Cheers~

Word! I think that's going to be a really good one! :)

Postings like this are a public attraction in the steemit community

I'm not totally sure I understand what you mean, could you clarify or go into more detail?

good jobb

wow fantastic art.

nice art
!

well this is amazing

@apolymask Inspiring post and inspiring reply!
To this I can add
... sometimes, however, we don't have a choice (difficult children, senile parents, prisons etc). Of course, maybe you had a choice before then.... It becomes extra important to choose your battles wisely in such "trapped" and abusive situations. You have to become your own best friend and super grounded at heart - not taking the abuse to heart. It comes down to making the most out of a difficult situation (remaining as positive as possible, descalating as much as possible). Chosing rolemodels in books, artists, music (and yoga!) helps.
Sometimes you have to "sit karma out".

What does that have to do with the post exactly...?