The Struggle: Flash Fiction Contest

in #contest6 years ago

When I looked into her eyes I saw fire and turquoise, vast as the ocean on which we swam. I knew then that she would make it, but doubted that I would be a witness.

Our boat disappeared while we explored the reef, scampering over the waves as we surfaced, like a flimsy memory of a dream receding to the horizon.

For a moment I believed her that an island was there. But then she always had better vision, and we were both accustomed to my deference.

It seemed that all she really wanted was reassurance that we could touch land, but I could not, for reasons I regret, give her false hope.

As the sun from its brilliant escape illuminated an island, I realized my disbelief weighed like an anchor on us both.

I waited until she was nearly there. The darkness hid my final betrayal as I surrendered.


Join Die Hard Steemit and Isle of Write on Discord


Struggle picture is courtesy of Pixabay.

Sort:  

Hmm, this was quite an interesting approach. I get that there is a story, which already is hard to tell in 150-words exactly, but there's more than just a story. There is a lot of emotion. "disbelief weight like an anchor" - that was a heck of a great phrase! I see I have got tough competition ;)

Yeah I have been seeing you a lot. Glad to be a quill companion

Release the Kraken! You got a 2.39% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @authorfriendly!

This post has received a 1.49 % upvote from @getboost thanks to: @authorfriendly.

You got a 5.17% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @authorfriendly. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

This post has received a 7.91 % upvote from @voterunner thanks to: @authorfriendly. BIG NEWS: Build your passive income with daily payouts from @voterunner! Read more about earning SBD with me. Daily. The easy way!

This post has received a 6.45 % upvote from @moneymatchgaming thanks to: @authorfriendly, @authorfriendly. Upvote this Post to Support the MMG Community on Steemit! :)

This post has received a 2.63% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @authorfriendly. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

Congratulations @authorfriendly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!