You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Share your most undervalued work (SBD prize)

in #contest7 years ago

Interesting idea. This was one of my first posts, on geometrical hypershpheres: https://steemit.com/hypersphere/@avrdan/hyperspheres-what-are-they-how-does-one-visualize-them

People seemed to like it, but overall it was pretty obscurely received.

Sort:  

I liked it, but there was an error of word choice, I think.

At least to my understanding, if I understand the concept properly. Which is always dodgy when it comes to these dimensional topics, as who really understands anything?

For example, consider a circle inscribed in a square, so that it touches the squares walls. It covers 79% of the square's surface. If we consider the case in 3 dimensions, a sphere only occupies 52% of the ¿area? inside of a cube.

I assume you already realised that you must mean volume

Anyhow, sorry for being a grammar nazi, but it sounds horrible to say the area of a cube

that video was cool and that maths girl is cute. Smart girls are awesome

I remember reading The Fourth Dimension by Rudy Rucker when I was a kid. Was always fascinated with higher dimensions, but I never learned the math to help in visualizing the geometrical forms that could exist there.

Great post!