You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blue Monday Contest Week #1

in #contest6 years ago

Blue Monday...

Wow..so I grew up in a city called Ibadan in Oyo State in Nigeria where things are a bit calmer, traffic is way lesser compared to the busy city of Lagos, Lagos State, Nigeria. Upon finishing my national service, I got a job to as a marketing executive for a private business.
So I was never used to living in Lagos. In Ibadan, no matter how far where you stay is from work, you're likely to get to work on time if you give an allowance of 1 hour. I thought that was the case in Lagos...

So on my resumption morning, 2nd June, 2014..I left my uncle's place where I was staying at Alimosho to go to Alausa...this journey I thought would only take about an hour.
The first magic happened when the bus driver of the first bus I took decided to stop halfway through the journey..he just said he wasn't going any longer and asked all passengers to alight from the bus...
Wow..I was running late on my first day at work..it was tug of war to get another bus that morning...
As if that wasn't enough, when we got to a place known as Ikeja-along, there was crazy traffic..apparently, some truck had fallen on the main road. It was a stand-still. Again all passengers had to come down and walk the rest of the distance to the next stop to get another bus..

As a JJC (Jolly Just Come), a newbie that is, I didn't really know my way and if you know Lagos, it could even be more dangerous to ask anybody for directions..
Before I found my way to wrok, it was 10:30am...
Wow!!! The HR manager that received me gave me the lash of my life..asked me if I was ready for the job...

This experience really destabilized me for most of the day...

Guess what, at the end of the month, #500 was deducted from my salary for each day I came late to work, this day inclusive...

That day was kinda harsh..

That's my Blue Monday experience

@bisodun

Sort:  

Ooh not nice, at least you got the job, so one positive in between all the negative!

Yea...some positive..thanks!