You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blue Monday Contest Week #1

in #contest6 years ago

Sorry for your Blue Monday @chr7is.

Your Monday could be said to be quite bad but I don't think it was as bad as mine. Have you ever been received a message at 11am for an interview slated for 12:30pm that same day? If you have, then you will have an idea of how frustrated I was today.

I applied for a job with one of the leading banks in my country, Nigeria. I had previously been invited a week ago for a computer based interview at the bank's headquarter. Luckily, my result was shown at once and it turned out that I aced the exam. I was told that they would keep in touch with me.

Now, before I applied for this job, I had a Java SE programme I was attending everyday of the week except Saturday and Sunday. Whenever I have something to do, I call my instructor and tell him I'm not coming.

I had waited for the bank's call or message for several days and it wasn't forthcoming. Normally, if you apply for jobs in Nigeria, do not put all your hopes in it as you may never get a call from the organization. Thus, I continued my Java classes with zeal.

This morning, I left for my Java class as early as 8am, wearing a T-shirt and jean trousers as is normal with programmers and IT guys. I got to school around 9am and began my lectures in the company of my colleagues.

By 11am, there was a prompt on my phone showing that I had a message. Checking, I realized that it was the bank asking me to come for the oral interview with my certificates, while corporately dressed. This means I'd have to go back home, begin put on the appropriate attire and then go to the bank for the interview.

Now it is pertinent to note that my house is very far from where I study Java, no less than a 50 minute journey. And the bank sent me a message by 11am asking me to come for an interview holding by 12:30pm. Like the bank was giving me an hour and 30 minutes to go back home, dress properly and then find my way to their office, a distance of not less than 2 hours from my home.

In summary, I get to the bank's HQ around 3pm, when candidates have already been briefed and some have even finished their own interview. One of the HR guys receiving us asked why I came late. I was a bit irked by his question and replied in a demeaning tone that they had sent the message late and I was already out of the house.

This guy had the guts to further irk me by asking me if I didn't know I was supposed to be prepared for the interview. I wanted to shoot a sarcastic remark but I cautioned myself. Then I apologized for coming late and he asked me to join up with the rest of the guys waiting for the interview.

At the end of the day, I go in for the interview very flustered and unprepared. I sit in front of 3 interviewers shooting me questions from left, right and center. At the end of it all, I come out after about 20 minutes having flopped heavily in the interview. I simply pick up my portfolio and head home. I cannot come and kill myself.

Sort:  

Yep, that is pretty bad.. But chin up, having a bad Monday only means that the week can get better from there.

Yeah... Tuesday's looking so great yet. At school already and ready to continue my Java GUI classes.

Life is what it is. You sound very capable. The circumstances weren't fair, nor was their lack of understanding for what they asked of you. Keep up the good work because it seems good things will be happening for you if you do. Best wishes!

Thank you Sir... I never let things weigh me down and this is no exception.

We must NEVER give up!