100 Days of Poetry Challenge Update For Day 61

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

100 Days of Poetry Challenge
-----Update [Day 61]-----

Comments and Weekly Finds, Continued!


29-thumb.jpg


strip5.jpg


Introduction

Hello everyone. In this update I'm going to discuss further our Interactive Comments and Weekly Finds, as well as straighten out when Weeks officially start and end. Also, I'll update you on the revised live poetry class schedule. Day 61 has begun as of 6 PM UTC on May 6th. Hope you've had a pleasant weekend!


29-thumb 5.jpg


Comments and Weekly Finds Update

Thank you to everyone who brought their feedback regarding the last major announcement in the challenge, especially those who discussed it at length in the live classes before and after the change was implemented. Today I want to announce the decision regarding these programs and clarify a few things.

Although I highly recommend you participate and hope you'll realize that detailed feedback is one of the greatest gifts you can give any artist, we'll allow people to opt out of it. Your name will be removed from the pool and you will not receive comments nor need to give any. You'll still be eligible for Weekly Prizes. If you declared your non-participation already on the last post, I've already made the change. Otherwise please message me privately on Discord (@d-pend#5693) if you wish to not participate.

Thank you very much to those that already did their assignments. If you only saw one of your two assignments on that post because you use Steemit from your phone, please check on a computer so the table will display properly (It only shows one column on mobile.) Several people have commented them on the past update, but they should actually be posted on the next one.

The weekly update will be posted on this upcoming Wednesday (Day 64) because this is the day weeks actually start (The next is Week 10.) Sorry for the confusion here, as I posted the previous update in the middle of a week on Day 53. This will give you all a bit more time to leave your comments, and for me to update the roster of participants.

When you do post your comment on the upcoming Wednesday, please include links to the two poems you commented on, as well as for the "Weekly Find," which can be a piece by any poet of your choice in the past week that you enjoyed.


29-thumb 4.jpg


Winners


I still have a long backlog of previous days (and weeks) to get through, so please be patient. Starting on Day 51 we will have the 15 SBD Weekly Winners announced and shift from the daily prizes. Stay tuned :-)


strip4.jpg


Class Schedule Changes

In order to make the classes more productive, we have decided to reduce the number of weekly sessions from 5 to 3. The days will be Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday. On Mondays we will look at various published poets from different time periods. On Wednesdays we will have informal sharing sessions, sometimes with a lecture or specific topic of discussion related to poetry. Thursdays will remain our Critique Sessions led by @geekorner. The time for all of the classes will be the same as before: 5-7 PM UTC in the Steem Schools Live Class section of the discord.


strip3.jpg


Recap

You have a few more days to do your comment assignments and weekly finds because the Weekly Updates will now occur on Wednesdays, when weeks actually begin. On that upcoming post you will post the results of those, and get new assignments. I'm still catching up with announcing winners, and poetry classes will now be held on Mon-Weds-Thurs from 5-7 PM UTC. Have an awesome day, and leave a comment if you have any input or need clarification on anything!


29-thumb 3.jpg


Wholeness,

@d-pend


29-thumb 2.jpg


Huge thanks to our donors!

  1. @d-pend (500 SBD and 200 STEEM)
  2. @violetmed (60 SBD)
  3. @hopehuggs (50 SBD)
  4. @girlbeforemirror (20 SBD)
  5. @yahialababidi (15.017 STEEM)
  6. @carmalain7 (11.11 SBD)
  7. @madushanka (10 SBD)
  8. @taliakerch (10 SBD)
  9. @firststeps (8 STEEM)
  10. @moeknows (5.44 SBD)
  11. @nikolina (5 SBD)
  12. @hazem91 (5 SBD)
  13. @whack.science (5 SBD)
  14. @josediccus (5 STEEM)
  15. @naquoya (3 SBD)
  16. @corderosiete (3 SBD)
  17. @nicholas83 (2 SBD)
  18. @acousticsteveo (2 SBD)
  19. @trucklife.family (2 SBD)
  20. @hartfloe (1.337 SBD)
  21. @johnrenald (1 SBD)
  22. @flysky (1 SBD)
  23. @zeleiracordero (1 SBD)
  24. @mineopoly (1 STEEM)
  25. @zulacut (0.6 SBD)
  26. @realnairda (0.5 SBD)
  27. @emekasegun (0.2 SBD)
  28. @setiagunawan (0.1 SBD)
  29. @nasrol (0.1 SBD)
  30. @rexdickson (0.1 SBD)

To donate, send STEEM or SBD to @d-pend or @steemitpoetry. Donations go towards the prize pool of this challenge, and any above that will be powered up to @steemitpoetry, an account to support the creation of poetry on the STEEM blockchain. Thank you very much to all who have contributed thus far!


strip2.jpg


double-29-star.jpg


neg-dbl-29star 2.jpg


Writing & images
By @d-pend
5/6/18


double-29-star 2.jpg


neg-dbl-29star.jpg


29-thumb 2.jpg


Sort:  

@d-pend, I covered my weekly obligations per the new rules (comments that were/are more substancial on my poets of the week and a weekly highlight). I apologize that this is so late (as is my daily poem also but I am just now home and have the internet to post -- this is how weekends go from here on out for me). I amdead-tired and am getting up in a few hours to start all over again, so please pardon any typos. :) :P

My highlighted poem of the week is from Stephen Martin : https://steemit.com/steemschool/@acousticsteveo/100-days-of-poetry-day-54-now-that-i-know

‘Now That I Know’ is a gem of repetition that rhythmically pulls the reader through a series of one sentence stanza groupings. There is a quality of transcendence from the experiential first stanza to the judgments of the second into that which is revealed through the process that leads to the last two lines. The ending thought is where the form is broken into a two line thesis with a line-break of declaration — that which is revealed through the revelation of the piece.

“Now that I know
That I know.”

I very much admire the flow of this piece and the meaning in which I derived from it. Now, I prefer not to deconstruct this into what I’ve extrapolated from this piece, my personal relationship with the poem is my own and I revel in the power of fine art to accomplish this. However, As with most art I find fascinating, there are many ways to read this piece. I can certainly see one finding a religious tone here, or a romantic overture also would not be hard to squeeze from the line stack — for me there is always certain prudence in bringing all things inward, as if this were a letter to one’s soul (free of religion though, or at least separate of doctrine).

Whatever story you find in this poem, I highly recommend reading it out loud so that you may feel the words, find the rhythm, your rhythm for them and relish in the beauty of this wonderful work.

Here are the links to the pieces from Tyger and Steve:

https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@acousticsteveo/100-days-of-poetry-day-55-deprogramming#@mamadini/re-acousticsteveo-100-days-of-poetry-day-55-deprogramming-20180501t225210659z

https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@tygertyger/totem-day-56-of-the-steemitschool-100-day-writing-challenge-by-d-pend#@mamadini/re-tygertyger-totem-day-56-of-the-steemitschool-100-day-writing-challenge-by-d-pend-20180501t223725657z

Thank you for your in depth reading, it meant a lot. 😎

I very much LOVED your work.

i like to see your poetry, wating for your day 62 challange and wish you all the best.

So who are the people I need to comment on their poems for this week we are now? Will you make another list? Or?

He'll post the weekly update on Wednesday, as he said :3

The next list will be announced on Wednesday (Day 64) when Week 10 begins.

Good Challenge, it's so interesting

I don't actually understand how this works... I have just written a sort of poem I would like to add up to this contest :) https://steemit.com/photography/@theinspiredlife/you-don-t-have-to-save-the-world-but-your-own-world-includes-photo-post

Day 61 has begun as of 6 PM UTC on May 5th

You mean day 61 began yesterday (the 5th) at 6PM UTC??? I thought it began today the 6th at 6 PM UTC. I'm confused again and I don't know it what point in time I slipped.

So day 62 is already running?

So my time to publish my #62 entry is already ticking?

It would be easier with a graphic calendar when we can see the actual date and the challenge day, as well as the beginning, end and numbering of the challenged weeks.

It's all written in prose inside paragraphs. A simple bullet list of calendar days and challenge days, an calendar weeks and challenge weeks would make things easier.

I published #61 a couple of hours ago thinking day 61 started today (6th) at 6PM UTC (2PM -4, my local time).

Is this quote a mistake?:

Day 61 has begun as of 6 PM UTC on May 5th

Yes, it was a typo. You have the correct date @sansoncarrasco.

thank you for the update, I really thought day 61 began today the 6th at 6p.m, I seem to have lost a day ahh.

No, you're correct @trucklife-family, it was a typo.

me too and I was always one day ahead ...

you donated 500SBD and 200 Steem ...Chokes ...keels over ...is now moulding away on carpet ...

are you sure about day 61 being yesterday I have always been hours ahed and now I am a day backwards ?

It was a typo @tygertyger. Today is day 61 :-)

thank you i was worried I somehow missed a day with my old lady brain :P

I think you missed the day, it's day 60 that started on 5th of May, not day 61 ;)

In my comment on the last update, I didn't include poems that I commented on. Should I go now and do it or this is just for the next week?

Yes, it was a typo. Go ahead and include the links on that comment, but you'll copy that one for the upcoming Wednesday update.

Ok. So we comment on next weeks update what 2 poems we commented on. Thanks a lot. I will do that ;)

Thanks for pairing me with 2 amazing people!

the Weekly Updates will now occur on Wednesdays, when weeks actually begin.

I like this. It is Monday but my week is not starting. Thank you for the update. Now I'm sure my week starts on Wednesday :)

Awesome going till now only few more days to go :D

thanks. I did my commenting part but I am really short of time. I hope to participate in the classes, at least the hearing part because I dont have a mic. It is all a bit confusing for me as am non tech but will try. thanks for being patient

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 6.21$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

I gave feedback to the spirits truth and original
And I chose not an eclogue as my weekly find ;)

Not sure this is the right place to put this, but I have them for days now lol it's time to share them :)

I'm not sure either but I'm going to follow your lead. 😎

I like this man i should get on the next competition

Bless up for the journey you have brought us on. Thank you

61 days. Wow. I can't believe I am still going. Thanks d-pend.

Nice activity. I'll try to follow your poetry classes

For this first week my comments are on marlyncabrara's and tygertyger's pieces. I chose a piece by blessedben.