You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #16: 199 words, 10SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Someday

"Some day the waters of the river will be crystal clear again from her the children of my children will drink, meanwhile I will try to live with freedom".

I Lived in a rural community near the great river , there the territorial conflict was frequent, the struggle for control of resources, families without homes, destruction and death it was usual.

One morning tilling the earth, I noticed a column of smoke, I stopped for a moment, when it was scattered, a caravan of trucks was approaching with armed people, fear invaded my head, one of the men came down with his dark glasses and said: - "I am Colonel Azalee, I need people to fight for our cause, whoever opposes will suffer the consequences". The soldiers with violence they entered the houses to take away those who would serve of cannon fodder, the that opposed was they murdered and thrown into the river; I felt the dreams and joys fade among the ashes devoured by fire.

Years have passed since that episode and I still live the same movie day after day, trying to imagine a free life, with my heart in that field hoping to one day return.

Sort:  

Great story!

Hi! Thank very much!

Great story dear @edurley.
Freedom is priceless and is not always a choice. Good luck in this contest