You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1300 USD (~8000 STEEM) + RESTEEM BONUS (1 STEEM) - CateredContent.com ~ ProximaX Sponsored OriginalWorks Writing Contest!

in #contest5 years ago

But Steemit Inc. does make money off of ads and you agree with that,isn't there something wrong with that reasoning? And at least if I don't want to see something from CC we don't open the post but Steemit ads are there whether we want to see them or not. I am saying this because you say "you cannot allow advertisements to make money on Steem", so we are either for or not, it is the same thing advertisement is advertisement.

Sort:  

It sounds to me like you haven't understood my argument at all. The problem is that with bid bots it is possible to buy votes to have your post in Trending while gaining at least as much in author rewards as one has paid for the votes. Vote buying used to be effectively free of charge. That is, any advertiser could come and buy votes from bid bots while getting all the attention from having their post in Trending - for free or even with a positive return on investment! Before HF 21, Trending used to be filled with shitposts and advertisements. Why not? It was free of cost to put them there. That devalued the whole platform.

The goal should be to downvote everything voted by bid bots in Trending so as to make the organically curated content preferred by the voting community dominate it. That way, Steemit will look attractive instead of a garbage pile of shit posts and advertisements.

I really don't agree with you, if you are against advertising you are against advertising. As for trending it is still completely full of shit posts except now instead of bid bots it is now down to circle jerks. There are a few dozen people for whom HF21 has been a God send for the rest of us it sucks.

I really don't agree with you, if you are against advertising you are against advertising.

My central point was that advertisers cannot be allowed to receive more money in rewards than they pay in paying for votes. Which part of this do not not understand? I'm all for advertisers advertising on Steem as long as they pay for it.

As for trending it is still completely full of shit posts except now instead of bid bots it is now down to circle jerks.

I disagree on the those posts being actual shit posts. They're not. But they're not great and the not of the kind that would attract a great deal of attention from the outside. Improving PoB is a work in progress. Forcing the bid bots to become manual curators in less than a month has been a huge success.

There are a few dozen people for whom HF21 has been a God send for the rest of us it sucks.

A few dozen? I think you're at best polarizing things way out of proportion.

I can tell you HF21 sucks the most for bid bot abusers, the bid bot operators and various spammers. It's the free downvotes that have done it.

By the way, I checked out your blog. I didn't see much change because of HF 21.

Can you point out some struggling authors you consider to be particularly deserving who have been shafted by HF21?

Nearly all, just take me for example, I don't post good material so I don't expect much but before I was getting about $0.40 per post now I get $0.16 (obviously I don't live off of Steem) and even then I will get less percentage off of those $0.16 than I would have gotten before HF21, this is the same for all writers except those few who have gotten in the know, post just claiming that #newsteem is great (like "Now I am getting great curation rewards and their votes are worth $0.04 so now they get $0.10 more a day) and somehow get a vote from HF21 promoters. Now if you only read posts from the people who are making much more now than before because a circle jerk has formed there is no way you will know this is true.
I have no problem with people on this circle jerk making money what I have a problem with is these guys are promoting a fake reality Steemit is no better off now and in fact it is in worse shape than before HF21.

Nearly all, just take me for example,

I'm not asking this just to score points in a debate. I actually want to find greatly under-rewarded authors to vote on and to promote. My own maximum upvote value is only around 8-9 cents at the moment. But my network is much more valuable.

I don't post good material so I don't expect much but before I was getting about $0.40 per post now I get $0.16 (obviously I don't live off of Steem) and even then I will get less percentage off of those $0.16 than I would have gotten before HF21,

The reason for that is the sub-linear part of the curve that causes every post that makes less than about 20 STEEM to make somewhat less than before. It was introduced because there is so much low-level abuse going on that remains under the radar. It has hurt legitimate new authors who make less than before. Better curation incentives are supposed to remedy that. Please try and come up with at least a few accounts you find worth considering.

this is the same for all writers except those few who have gotten in the know, post just claiming that #newsteem is great (like "Now I am getting great curation rewards and their votes are worth $0.04 so now they get $0.10 more a day) and somehow get a vote from HF21 promoters. Now if you only read posts from the people who are making much more now than before because a circle jerk has formed there is no way you will know this is true. I have no problem with people on this circle jerk making money what I have a problem with is these guys are promoting a fake reality Steemit is no better off now and in fact it is in worse shape than before HF21.

The whole platform is definitely not in worse shape than before HF21, in my opinion. At least something is being done about the abuse. Curation is increasingly being taken seriously by the big wigs. Both Bernie and Haejin have stopped fucking around. I never thought I'd see that.

You've been here since August 2016 and you have only 268 SP. How is that possible? I became active almost a year later. You have made about 1700 posts. I have made about 1500. I've made 9500 comments. You have made about 4800 comments. My posts make more than yours. I don't make Steem Monsters posts or Actifit posts. For the last year, I've been making photography posts with 5-10 photos taken with a DSRL in RAW format and edited with editing software or essays one or two pages long almost on a daily basis. What people do here adds up. Getting curated and whitelisted for @ocdb was a big deal last Christmas. But that happened because I'd bought the camera and learned how to take photos and because I'd stayed the course in the brutal bear market. I've always written a lot of comments and I consistently score well in @abh12345's curation league that measures how widely people curate. People remember me.

Well you see I do have to make the Actifit posts, that is just to keep myself aware that I have to make those 10,000 steps every day, and it has worked I have lost over 20 lbs and a lot of belly fat. As for only having 268 SP well I have withdrawn about $1,000.00 worth of Steem sometimes I do get into financial straits and it has helped out. Do I regret it? Not really I would have about 1,500 SP if I hadn't done that. As for you having achieved more than I, I think you didn't understand what I meant by this " I don't post good material so I don't expect much", I think that should explain much of it. See this isn't personal, I am not so conceited that I think I deserve more because I know I don't, what really irks me is that for example that reward curve idea, it is killing people who actually are scoring benefits every day from their Steemit posts like people from some African countries or Venezuela, all this hard fork has done is just cut their rewards in half so if before thanks to Steemit they were able to buy one meal now they only get half of that.
Now I am from a third world country Honduras, and I think that in fact we have more poverty than Venezuela, but we don't have the problem of a rapidly devaluating coin, so getting money in a foreign currency is not that big a help for us except of course if we are talking of hundreds of dollars. And even though I have taken out Steem to patch up some problems there is no way that with what I make here I could even pay for my internet connection.

Well you see I do have to make the Actifit posts, that is just to keep myself aware that I have to make those 10,000 steps every day, and it has worked I have lost over 20 lbs and a lot of belly fat.

That's fine. I don't see a problem with making Actifit posts. And yes, you said you don't expect them to
make much. But why lament the fact that they are not paying not even as much as they were prior to HF21? How much are they worth to the stakeholders of Steem collectively or the outside world?

As for only having 268 SP well I have withdrawn about $1,000.00 worth of Steem sometimes I do get into financial straits and it has helped out. Do I regret it? Not really I would have about 1,500 SP if I hadn't done that.

I see.

As for you having achieved more than I, I think you didn't understand what I meant by this " I don't post good material so I don't expect much", I think that should explain much of it. See this isn't personal, I am not so conceited that I think I deserve more because I know I don't, what really irks me is that for example that reward curve idea, it is killing people who actually are scoring benefits every day from their Steemit posts like people from some African countries or Venezuela, all this hard fork has done is just cut their rewards in half so if before thanks to Steemit they were able to buy one meal now they only get half of that.

It is not the purpose of Steem to pay for the meals of anybody who isn't providing commensurate value. The curve was introduced to take away the rewards from the spammers and the low-level vote farmers so that more would be left for the community-oriented honest content creators. I've seen a lot of low-effort posting and plagiarizing done by a lot of people here, particularly from South Asia. Back in the spring of 2018, there was one guy who used to beg for handouts in the comment section of my blog and that of a friend of mine. I think he was from India. I looked at his blog and asked him to make better posts. I told him I'd gladly help him if he posted stories about ordinary life in his town with photographs or about the local economy, climate or politics or something like that. Anything. He couldn't bring himself to try. I follow and support good Indian bloggers. And I also have supported and donated liquid funds to people in tough situations. Those people were in the Philippines, Nigeria, Russia and South Korea. (I don't like it when the largest accounts exploit the system, either. But recently, there has been a remarkable shift in the behavior of some of the worst of them.)

At the same time, curation was made more profitable so as to motivate curators, which is why I am here now. I'm your #newsteem. Please give me a list of people you interact with and who you think deserve better rewards and I'll take a look at their content.