Art Prompt Writing Contest #7

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

@agsttne won my art contest, submitting the following photograph.

This writing contest requires original works of fiction using the photograph above as a story prompt. I am flexible on length, but the general ballpark is between 500 and 1000 words. If the judging becomes tight, however, I will take this into consideration.

My last writing contest was a struggle to judge, but I want this one to be even harder. The entries these contests have received are truly exceptional, generating some truly remarkable writing.

Once you have written your story in a Steemit post, link it in the comments below.

QUICK TIP: to improve your work and therefore your chances of winning, consider running your story through the fiction workshop at The Writers' Block.

There will be one overall winner who will get 20 SBD plus the SBD payout from this post. @sroka87, @geekgirl and @g-force1980 all donated 10 SBD to this prize fund. Therefore I will choose 3 runners-up who with each receive 10 SBD each.



This contest ends at 23:59 UTC/GMT on the 11th December.

Good luck everyone!



Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, songwriting or playwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block on Discord and follow our community account @thewritersblock.


Sort:  

Here is my entry for the contest - Welcome to the Reality: Deployment Day.

Thank you for your submission.

Here is my entry for the contest: https://steemit.com/contest/@neiraurdaneta/survivor

Thank you for your submission.

Here is my entry @gmuxx, just in the nick of time. It is called Reality in Retrospect. Thanks for the great prompt it really fired my imagination.

Thank you for your submission.

Done! And just in time, haha! I'm really sorry to have you reading in the last minute, @gmuxx, but I guarantee the extra time was put to good use.

Do check out my entry, Beyond Comprehension, and leave some feedback down in the comments!

Thank you for your submission.

This is my entry for the contest
https://steemit.com/contest/@edurley/hostile-earth

Thank you for your submission.

Here is my entry for this week's contest:
https://steemit.com/writing/@rnunez09/art-prompt-writing-contest-7-divine-energy

I really had fun writing this piece, thank you for this opportunity.

Thank you for your submission.

Wow, an ominous image for this prompt. I can only imagine the dark routes these tales will take. Feeling post-apocalyptic anyone?

my thoughts exactly.

Yes, feels very dystopian to me. sigh no clue how I will find time this week....

Here's my entry: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/welcome-to-reality-gmuxx-contest-entry.

Funny story: I wrote this as a 1500 word piece, because I was certain I saw that in the word count limit. Then I noticed in the description above that it is a 1000 word limit, so I cut out 500 words! THEN I looked at the reminder post and the word count there is listed as 1500.

All I can say is "thank you for stretching my skills as an editor!"

I am so sorry, it has always been between 500 and 1500. My mistake.

Thank you for your submission.

No worries. The story had a bit more flavor and more sinister details at 1500 words, but it’s tight as a drum at 1000. Also thank you for the two hour grace period! (Of course I may not have needed it if I didn’t have to kill off 500 helpless words.... 🤣)

This is my entry "Shot of reality" I have to admit that I borrowed the gif at the end of your post, The Writers' Block help me with this one! You all rock.

Thanks for the contest :)

Thank you for your submission.

Do I'm the First runner up ? :D

My first ever contest entry on steemit! I hope it is something worthwhile. It Was Only a Dream is my entry. Kind of a horror vibe. Hopefully you'll enjoy!

Thank you for your submission.

Yay! I made it in time, and now I can go read everyone else's entries without fear of tainting my own imaginings or being scared off by the competition!

https://steemit.com/fiction/@jrhughes/the-loneliest-number-gmuxx-art-prompt-writing-contest-entry

Same here! I am having fun reading now that I got my own piece submitted.

YAY!

Thank you for your submission.

https://steemit.com/welcometoreality/@godo/welcome-to-reality

11:08 PM
Monday, December 11, 2017
Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)

Thank you for your submission.

Thank you for the contest! Going to put my submission...right...here.



Sunsetting

Thank you for your submission.

Thank you for your submission.

Thank you for your submission.

Hello @gmuxx, Though i saw this late. But I love to write a little. Here's my entry. Hoping it does well. https://steemit.com/contest/@bob-elr/art-prompt-writing-contest-7-the-inevitable

Thank you for your submission.

I'm happy participating.

Thank you for your submission.

Thank you for your submission.

Thank you for your submission.

Thank you, @gmuxx, for this writing prompt. Here is my story that emerged in response to the evocative photograph by @agsttne https://steemit.com/fiction/@yahialababidi/original-fiction-art-prompt-writing-contest-7 I hope it keeps you good company, Yahia

Thank you for your submission.

You got me to write a story Muxxy. Hopefully you like it, I don't write much fiction, but this one just felt like writing the world as I see it.


https://steemit.com/writing/@clayboyn/aftermath-art-prompt-writing-contest-7

Glad I have managed to tempt a work of fiction out of you.

Thank you for your submission.

RSD to get the word out!

@gmuxx,
Congrats @agsttne, when I saw your entry, I just knew that would be the winner! That is an awesome piece of work! Thanks for the contest @gmuxx.
@Lymmerik

@gmuxx: Thanks to give us space like this to develop and improve writing abilities.


Here, my contribution for this edition:


https://steemit.com/fiction/@mjcarvajalp/the-day-we-started-the-final-battle-to-win-our-future


Regards!

Thank you for your submission.

I love seeing these writing challenges throughout Steemit.
Inspiration came with the photo and the first line kind of popped out of my head. I need to write some notes so I don't forget it. Resteeming!

Totally agree with you, I love the challenge and the way I can improve with this :D hope to read you soon!

Does this contest use English only? What if I use indonesian language? is it acceptable? thanks.

Sorry, no. I only read English.

OMG this is my chaaancee! :D Nice photo btw !

Hi @gmuxx. I don't remember donating. I think you mistyped. Maybe you meant @geke donated? Not sure lol :)

Um...

18 days ago
Transfer 10.000 STEEM to geekgirl
towards your prize fund

Yea I know :) I am talking about your contest post here :)

There will be one overall winner who will get 20 SBD plus the SBD payout from this post. @sroka87, @geekgirl and @g-force1980 all donated 10 SBD to this prize fund. Therefore I will choose 3 runners-up who with each receive 10 SBD each.

Sigh...I confused myself. Lol