You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #27: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SB prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

The Lie

Princess Alicia ran happily into her father’s arms, King Arys, the Mad King. She clasped him in her embrace and couldn’t believe her fate.

“I’m glad father. For a moment, I feared you thought I was lying.”

King Arys smiled wryly.

“You’re the pride of my heart. How could I not believe you unless you give me a reason not to?”

He slowly got out of her embrace and began to walk to the throne.

“I didn’t even know that you didn’t sleep in the palace. I was just asking about your night.”

“But father, I slept in the palace.”

“Oh. Then why did you talk about the heavy downpour, the one that only happened in Riverrah where that blacksmith lives?”

King Arys stopped speaking when he got to the throne. Alicia’s eyes widened in fear as he picked up the crossbow.

“My sweet daughter,” King Arys continued as he turned to look at her, “in your next life, if you are going to lie, be brief.

The arrow caught Princess Alicia in the heart.