IFC Season 2 Round 7 - Bashadow's Word Contest Idea

in #contest5 years ago

Hello there! Welcome to our digital spaceship castle.
spaceshipcastle.jpg
Artwork credit - @jimramones on steemit

Hey IFC peoples. Good to see you.
Another round is done and.. I was thinking..

Even though participation has been a bit lower than last season, I feel like we're going at a good rate and it's not so overwhelming as it was last time.

One quest a week instead of two is a lot easier on me and the other judges as well I'm sure, and less entries also allows me to feel less stressed and I feel like I'm able to respond to everyone in a lot more detail and thoughtfulness.

I of course would like it if we had a bunch more players as that would suggest to me that the game is more popular and in "demand" so to speak, though.. I'm actually enjoying this even with a smaller group of people.. It feels fine to me and I'm not really worried about it as much as I was a few rounds back.

I think in time, especially if the crypto market goes back up again that we will get a lot more players and that would be awesome too.. But even with just like 5 or so players a round, this is great and I'm having a lot of fun. :)

I think things will find a way to work out and even if this game never becomes as big as I would like it to be, I'm having a blast the way it is right now. And.. I think that's important, to appreciate the process and the journey and to not worry so much about the end game or the long term results.

One other thing I wanted to mention is that one of our main judges @charisma777 has been MIA for a while now and hopefully she is okay and it's nothing too serious!

So we're a bit behind on voting for the rounds, though I just hired a guest judge to come in and help out for at least one round and I will hire him or others to help us more with the other rounds in the future if necessary so hopefully we start getting the rounds announced more soon here.

It may end up being that season 2 is just a bit slower than the 1st one and I'm okay with that, this is going to be a long adventure and I hope we're still here 10 years from now with a hall of fame and many great memories with many great people.

Some may come and go, and it will be fun to meet them and see how they help shape our community along the way. :)

I'm looking forward to seeing where this all goes! And before too long here we're going to be at the finals and have another champion!

We're already getting close to being half way through the second season.. I wonder who the champion will be this time? Anyways.. On to round seven!

quest.png

The subject of our seventh quest is.. "Bashadow's - Word Contest Idea"

This is a quest that was created by @bashadow last season when he won a round that was about coming up with an idea for a new quest for our contest. The rules are..

The contest only requires one paragraph, of four sentences.
The length of the sentence is up to the writer.

Write one paragraph.
Paragraph must have four (4) sentences.
All words must start with the same letter.

Here is what an entry could look like:

Four fat frogs flipped four fat flies frying. Four fancy ferrets found four funny felines. Four funny felines fought four ferocious foxes. Four fancy ferrets flew forward fighting four ferocious foxes fighting four fancy felines.

Your four sentences should sort of make sense, at least a little bit.
And also, we are going to be doing a bonus round this round to come up with an idea for a new quest similar to how the one bashadow created was done.

The bonus prize will be 5 steem for whoever comes up with the best new contest idea as voted on by the judges.

You can just include your idea if you decide to try the bonus quest with your round 7 entry post you don't need to make a whole separate post.

Here's a link to this same round that we did last season if you'd like to check it out to get a better idea of how it works.
https://steemit.com/contest/@apolymask/information-finding-championship-season-1-round-18

There were some really great entries last time! And.. I'm excited to see what you come up with this time. :)

sponsors.png

So far we have received support and 10steem from @underground and I have confirmed that @ats-david @krnel @timcliff @steemcommunity and @ura-soul will also be supporting us this season.

Underground, ats-david, krnel, timcliff, steemcommunity, and ura-soul are all witnesses, so if you support what we are doing here at the IFC please look into them and give them a vote for witness as well. By the way to vote for ats-david you should vote for his @ats-witness account.

Also it looks like @ecoinstar will donate 100 shares of steembasicincome to the winner of the grand prize!
And thanks to @bengy for delegating 25 steem. :)
A special thanks as well to @davemccoy and @newbiegames and @newbieresteemday who are not technically sponsors but we have worked with them in the past. Looks like newbiegames and newbieresteemday have been inactive for months though we still use their tags for the time being.

IFC2.jpg

rules.png

The challenge will finish after 7 days when the post ends and provides its payout cycle or when all entries have been submitted.

25% of the post payout goes to curation and after that what's left will now be split up 75% to the winner of the round and 25% to put towards building up the @ifc account.

For those who play via email.. This will be recorded and saved for you, and.. If you're unwilling to make your own steem account we will at some point be willing to convert it for you to whichever currency however.. Not for small amounts, you must earn at least 10 steem for us to take the time to do this for you.


Rules

1. Round 7 of season 2 starts now and the subject is Bashadow's - Word Contest Idea.
  1. Create a blog post on steem for the contest or send an email if you are playing via email.

  2. Title of blog post or subject of email must contain, "IFC S2R7"

  3. Leave a link to your post in the comments below unless you are playing via email in which case myself or someone else will do so. (This part is important and a lot of people forget this, please put the blog link in the right place so our judges can find it)

  4. And you also have to use the #ifc tag in your blog post as well unless you are playing via email.

  5. You must accept that if you somehow get hurt doing any of our quests you can not reasonably hold us accountable. You must take responsibility for your own choices and actions in life. This is a voluntary game where you choose to play. Only you can make such decisions for yourself.

  6. You are responsible for paying the appropriate government taxes, fees, and service charges resulting from any transactions with the IFC or Marketplace. We are not responsible for collecting, reporting, paying, or remitting to you any such taxes, fees, or service charges, except as may otherwise be required by law.

Acceptable content


A. A blog post or email which follows the rules of the word challenge and also there is bonus round for creating a new contest idea

B. Language is primarily in English and if you would like to participate from elsewhere in the world it is up to you to translate your message into English so we can understand you.
C. Do your best to make sure everything is properly sourced.
D. We also encourage role playing for those who enjoy doing that. :)

Also we now have judges guidelines so you can see what the main judges generally look for in an entry, links to those will be below.

https://steemit.com/contest/@apolymask/my-judges-guidelines-for-the-ifc
https://steemit.com/informationfinding/@xomegax/guidlines-ifc
https://steemit.com/ifc/@charisma777/the-ifc-is-baaaack-you-won-t-want-to-miss-this-season-check-us-out
Good luck in the contest!!


Click to enter the Discord chat room.

Click to go to the rules page.

20180421_151139_0001.pngOriginal by @yeszuzia and modified by @charisma777

PS.. If you'd like to be a part of the community in some way but don't want to play in the game, we're still looking for a few regular judges and always looking for guest judges and sponsors.

Please feel free to resteem or share this blog post on any social media to help get the word out to more people who might want to play! <3 Thank you.

Also if you want to play via email or be notified of each round or get updates then please send an email to [email protected]
with the subject "Add to IFC mailing list".

Plus here's a YouTube video I made on the subject of the IFC that I'm going to include with each round post.

Sort:  

Good luck to everyone on this one! Not really my thing, so I'm skipping! See you in the next round!

Anything @bashadow comes up with is guaranteed to be good. So I'm sure this is a blast! :D Good luck everyone!!!!

Word.. I think this quest of his was one of the most memorable and fun ones that we did last season! People came up with some really awesome and creative and sometimes funny entries, I'm looking forward to seeing how they do this time. :)

I will stop by for sure too! :D

Cool! Glad to hear that. :D Thanks davemccoy!

This is an interesting challenge. I'm digging it. I've started to create my paragraph. It's been fun and challenging. I look forward to seeing what people come up with themselves.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed! It is an interesting challenge, glad to hear you're digging it and that you think it's been fun and challenging. :) I really enjoyed your entry and think you did an awesome job!

lol, my favorite round last year. The thing is... I don't remember which letter I used last year - although I have a vague idea. The thing that immediately pops up in my head sounds very familiar, so I assume that was it :0)

Right, I'll get to it

Ah this was your favorite round? Was definitely one of my favorites as well. I think the photo scavenger hunts which were also created by one of our players @kryptocek might have been my favorite but I'm not sure, it's hard to pick! Glad to see you again and I enjoyed your entry, was super clever and funny!

There was enother lîke this, if I remember correctly, where we had to use the next letter of the alphabet for the next word, if I remember correctly.

You can really wake me up in the middle of the night to play language games :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll keep that in mind! Heh. :) I love language games too and I'll try to work more into the competition.

Lol, found last year's entry... now I gotta think of another letter :0)

An interesting challenge this week, mate. Thanks to @bashadow for conceiving it. Here's my entry.

We have an email entry in already for this round from @plushzilla
I will make sure to remind the judges to look for this and not miss it when it comes time to vote for this round.


Finally this is a round that I can get stuck into more easily, so here it goes:

An average adult acknowledges an accurate answer. An average adult assumes all aliens are actually anomalies. An apparition allows alternate allegations as appearing authentic. And an alternative answer arises.

My idea for a new contest is not a 'new' idea, but with so many experts amongst us, I thought it would be really interesting for us to post a 'Two lies and a truth' on our expert subject. The idea is to state three facts on a subject matter that you are a self-claimed expert in (mine would be making origami from flower petals, or something less specific like UX Design), two of which are false while one is true.

Everyone who participates in the round must post an entry and also guess everyone else's entries (by commenting on which one fact they think is true), and the winner is the person who manages to fool the most number of people. If there is a tie then we can determine the winner by the person who managed to pick the correct fact from the other person's entry.

And if that also results in a tie then we have a count back to see who got the most number of correct facts in the round, and if that also results in a tie then the prize will be split.

I like your poem @plushzilla ! Very clever and I especially like how you included aliens in there. :D Not to nitpick too much but I feel this part could have been tweaked a lil to flow better. "An apparition allows alternate allegations appear authentic."

I think if you changed it and put an "as" after allegations and made appear into "appearing" then it would flow a lil better.. Like this. "An apparition allows alternate allegations as appearing authentic."

Still great though! Nice work. I enjoyed it. :D
In regards to the new quest idea.. I'm not a fan of lying myself and try to avoid such yet I think if you put a fun and non malicious spin on it like you did it could be done in a way that I would approve of.

I'm a lil uncertain about how the voting would work would judges also vote? And it would require a higher level of participation than usual with the players but I think that could be a good thing!

I think one of the main problems I can foresee is that you would have to be really really clever because players could likely just go on Google to find out which are truth and which are lies.
Interesting idea though! Will think about it more.

Here is a response from @plushzilla and my dinner is almost ready plus I'm going to bed after that so I will not be responding again until at least tomorrow. (PS I will be editing his entry as per his request)


Hi Paul,

I like your edits to the paragraph (please feel free to add it to the comments) as I did struggle a bit with that part :p

In terms of the contest idea, I am not really a fan of lying myself, but sometimes it is good to highlight misconceptions that people may have about certain topics, and the important of getting to the source of truth and verifying the facts (which I do want to encourage). I think I got the inspiration from one of the previous challenge of doing some research into obscure facts. And if you probably have to do more than just Google information if our subject matter experts know their stuff :)

As for voting, it would only be for the players that submit an entry that are eligible to vote, and I think we need to encourage participation in more ways than one (i.e. not just posting entries alone because engagement often happens through multiple interactions).

I will be trying to get in touch with @dreemsteem about collaborating to help with IFC, and did you know that there is also a connection between @dreemsteem and @bengy? :)

Have a good weekend!

Okey doke. @plushzilla I edited your entry since you said to feel free to do so. And thanks for adding more context to your bonus quest idea. I agree with your sentiments there and I think it can be useful to go about it in such manner. In regards to the aspect about Googling.. I imagine one could find a way to make it work though these days you can find almost anything on Google that is somewhat well known. Thanks for clarifying about the rules and I agree, more interaction would be good!

Thanks for trying to get in touch with dreemsteem in regards to collaborating. :) And.. Hmmm.. I do seem to remember seeing dreemsteem and bengy chatting on our discord channel in the past like they knew each other but I can't really remember the details and am not sure what the connection is?

Thanks for the well wishes and hope you had a good weekend as well!

I truly hope that everything is alright with @charisma777.

Here's my entry for this weeks round. Thanks to @bashadow for throwing out this challenge.

https://steemit.com/ifc/@jbreheny/wonderful-willy-ifc-s2r7

Congratulations @ifc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Here is my entry for the quest Entry

i hope im not late, heres my submission...good luck to everyone https://steemit.com/ifc/@mistakili/fortunate-future-ifc-s2r7