[Last Week I Asked You] to Give me a Fake Fact

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Last week I asked you to tell me a fact that sounds real, but is in fact fake. I got some excellent entries, and I've selected 10 of them and turned them into memeified infographics that you can share on Facebook for everyone to believe. At the time of writing this, I still haven't actually picked a winner, but I'll have decided by the end of this post.

A little delayed again this week, sadly we've had a very poorly chicken who's needed lots of TLC (not the learning channel, that thing ain't helping anyone) and *fingers crossed* she seems to be making a recovery. After a very expensive trip to the vet, it seems like she has egg peritonitis, which (in the simple way the vet put it) is basically an infection by an egg yolk that's not gone down the right tubes and ended up in the main body cavity. A few warm baths, olive oil (in both ends) and now some antibiotics, and she seems to be perking up. I'm feeling hopeful. But yes, that's this weeks excuse for the delay anyway! Plus it's hot as the devil's ballsack.

Here is my example of a fake fact, although I have made a slight alteration after my brother from another mother pointed out I was missing a pun, but let's get into the rest of the fake facts!










Thank you @gwilberiol for this excellent fact of fakery, although I've had to take a bit of liberty with this one, as I think a good fake fact needs to be short so I've taken the gist of it, and made it Facebook-friendly!










Two for the price of one from the lovely @neenarose! I went with the first one, mainly just because I'm lazy AF and I didn't have to do anything to make it fit into the format. Also, you should go check out her blog













This entry from @reonlouw really made me chuckle, but again I had to make a few alterations to make it fit the format.




So, it's time to announce the winners! There's a first place prize of $1SBD and a SBI share, plus two runner up prizes of a SBI share each. If you want to read more about the Steem Basic Income initiative, which is amazing in case you aren't already aware, then head on over here.

Runner-up Prizes

I'm giving the two runners-up prizes to @foxfiction and @neenarose for their great entries, they were both perfect fake facts that didn't require any effort on my part, hooray! Congratulations to both of you, I've sent 1 STEEM to @foxfiction so if you could send that to @steembasicincome with @neenarose in the memo, you will both receive a share. Any questions or problems let me know.

And now onto the first place prize...


and the winner is...

First place is going to @loosetooth! Again because it fitted into the format perfectly, but also because I really want it to be true. All hail the glorious Lupus hive mind! A big congratulations to you buddy, and your prize should already be with you. I've nominated you for @SteemBasicIncome myself so you don't need to do anything.


Well, that's it for this week! Sorry it's a little delayed again, hopefully we'll be back to normal scheduling next week. I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did, and feel free to use these images as you please. Make sure to keep your eyes peeled for this weeks challenge which I'll be announcing tomorrow. If you enjoyed this, make sure to give it an upvote and if you haven't already, hit that Follow button to stay up to date on the latest Internet and Pop Culture updates, plus whatever else I feel like writing about! A big thank you to everyone who entered, and I hope you enter this weeks! Until next time guys, take it easy!


P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.



Enjoyed this? More [Last Week I Asked You]

[Last Week I Asked You] to Recommend a Bad Movie

[Last Week I Asked You] to scare me in just three lines...



All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders, unless I am the copyright holder then I give myself full permission. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

Awesome! Congrats to the winners. And thank you for amazing memes. That is really above and beyond but it makes for interesting reading.

Great content @johngreenfield!

How long did it take you to come up with all the graphics?

He's a real pro aint he?!

Honestly not long, I cheated a bit. I use a site called Canva.com, use some of their free templates and move things around a bit. I'm really bad at graphics without their help!

I like the goat one, it was one of these "inspirational instagram" style images, but I just popped a clipart goat over the guy

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 2963.56 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18827.40
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Hahaha - @neenarose you made me cackle with that one! In gale force winds 😂😂 - I'll go sort out our sbi share now 👍

It had me in stitches!

Thank you, sorry to make you have to do some of the work! I just don't wanna unfairly give myself loads of shares.

Thanks again for your entry, and congratulations!

Pushing two buttons isn't that hard, don't worry (grunts with exertion) 😂 Thanks for the shares!

woooooo thank you 😊 such a fun comp!! thank you thank you 😊😊😊

You're very welcome! Thanks for taking part

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!