[Last Week I Asked You] to Recommend a Bad Movie

in #contest6 years ago

I think I bit off more than I could chew with this one! First of all, thank you so very much to everyone who entered, you kept me entertained for nights. I really had some fun with this one, it's just a shame you couldn't watch them with me. I wonder how hard a live stream on YouTube or DTube would be...

Back to the task at hand, I was genuinely surprised that you all managed to suggest films I'd not seen before. Although that meant it took me longer than I'd liked to get through them, it made for a good viewing experience! Let's go through some of the great entries before getting to the winners shall we?


@conradino23 - For Y'ur Height Only (1981)

Thank you @conradino23 for bringing this film into my consciousness. It's a filipino comedy spy film released in the same year as the James Bond epic For Your Eyes Only, but I think I prefer this version. Notable for staring Weng Weng, the world's shortest adult actor as well as for his amazing martial arts skills. I'd never heard of this one, and really enjoyed it! Martial arts films definitely feature heavy in this post...


@evileddy - Hudson Hawk (1991)

A film that both stars and was co-written by Bruce Willis, where have you been all my life? He also helped write the theme tune, so Dennis Waterman will be proud. Oh, and Sylvester Stallone's younger brother is in it too, cool. I thought this one might win, but upon reflection it's not quite bad enough and I wasn't expecting the surreal humour. I think I'll be revisiting this one again at a later date.


@antimetica - Kung Pow! Enter the Fist (2002)

Another martial arts entry, but this one from America. I'd seen things about this film online, but never actually watched it until recently, and again, not unintentionally bad enough sadly to win but I did enjoy far more than I thought I would. I was surprised to see that it was Steve Oedekerk, who works with Jim Carrey a lot. Apparently, we can expect a sequel to this one sometime soon, so I'll be keeping an eye out for that! Thanks @antimetica!


@foxfiction - Kung Fu Hustle (2004)

Another one that I somehow missed until now, and another martial arts film! They do make for good-bad movies, that's for sure. What stopped this one from being a winning entry was mainly down to how well received it was by critics and audiences alike, it's kinda just a good comedy film! Cheesey for sure, and the cartoonish style was definitely striking, but it was one of China's highest grossing films which took me by surprise I have to say.


@brimax - Trog (1970)

A British sci-fi flick starring Joan Crawford? Yes please, and this one really was a close contender for the number one spot. I didn't know until doing a bit of research for this post, but this was Joan's last venture onto the big screen. Some amazing costume design going on in this one, it must be said. But despite it's low-budget shortcomings, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I have a sweet spot for sci-fi, and this one was ticking all my boxes. Thank you for sharing this with me @brimax, if you know of any other gems like this don't hesitate to share!



Runner-up - SBI Share

@rindaman1234 - Battlefield Earth

Battlefield Earth (or Battlefield Earth: A Saga of the Year 3000 to give it it's proper title) is rather notorious among film critics and lovers alike as being genuinely one of the worst films ever made. I've heard about this film in that regard, but also because it is based upon the first half of a book by L. Ron Hubbard; founder of Scientology, one of the most notorious cults that are currently operating. I thought going into this that this film was nothing more than scientology propaganda, but it's not. It was directed by a buddhist Roger Christian, it does star Travolta who had wanted to do a film on Hubbard's works for a very long time, but couldn't find a big studio to fund it. Enter Franchise Pictures, and I guess the rest is history.

It is a terrible film, but that's what makes these enjoyable. This certainly isn't Travolta's finest work, and luckily we never got a sequel to this mess of a movie, despite Travolta having envisioned it as a two-part epic saga. It was much longer than I wanted as well, which only added to the suffering. Thank you @rindaman1234 for this, it's almost two hours I won't get back, but I'm ok with that!



First Place - 0.5SBD + SBI Share

@naturowlmystic - Miami Connection

This one was the clear winner to me, especially after I read about it's back story. A programmer working for a movie studio bought the 35mm reel off ebay for this previously unreleased EPIC. The studio then released it decades after first being produced, and we have this glorious film. This was exactly what I had in mind when I first announced this contest, and boy did it live up to my expectations.

I'm not going to ruin it for anyone, but @naturowlmystic described it best with:

"a little known gem that focuses on the trials and tribulations of a group of ninjas who also have a punk band that get involved with a rival group of ninjas who also have a punk band but are cocaíne dealers taboot."

Beautiful. I don't know how I missed this one, but thank you so very much for recommending this. I will be buying myself a physical copy in the coming weeks!



Congratulations to @naturowlmystic and @rindaman1234! Rather than nominate you guys for @steembasicincome myself, I've sent 1 STEEM to @naturowlmystic (along with your first place prize), so if you could nominate @rindaman1234 by sending that 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome with just @rindaman1234 in the memo, and you'll both receive a share. If you're unsure or have any questions first, just leave a comment down below and I'll get back to you.

If you would like to read more about Steem Basic Income, click here

I hope you enjoyed this even just a fraction as much as I did, it's given me plenty of ideas for further projects. This one was maybe a bit too much of an undertaking for a weekly competition, but I've written down enough ideas for the next 4 months, so keep an eye out for the next one on Monday. I'm confident I've got a good template down, and maybe we'll have a laugh or two.


As always guys, let me know your thoughts and feelings down in the comment section, or maybe you've got a "so bad it's good" movie you think I might enjoy? Follow me for the latest Technology, Internet & Pop Culture updates and if you're a fan of strange/interesting YouTube videos, you might want to follow me on Twitter.


P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.


All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

Kung Pow is a great movie! So bad it was good haha

I would love a sequel!!

Apparently it's in the works, so here's to hoping!

Dude what an awesome way to wake up! I've sent the steem to @steembasicincome with @rindaman1234 in the memo.

So glad you enjoyed the movie bro. If you haven't already done so check out troll 2. Don't bother looking for troll 1 as it never existed. The director came to a small town in alabama and hired local actors for a film he mostly created as he went.

You're more than welcome bud!

That's great, I'd have done it myself but then I'd just be getting loads of shares myself which doesn't seem fair.

I really did enjoy it, it's rocketed up to one of my favourite so-good-they're-bad films. I've seen a video review by IHE on YouTube about it, but haven't been brave enough to actually sit and endure it. I'll give it a go this weekend I think! Am I right in thinking they aren't even trolls, but goblins? Often the back stories to these films are more interesting than the films themselves!

Thanks for entering and sharing that with me, see you around!

I think the troll/goblin debate comes from some impromptu weirdness where the troblins are actually morphing from trees and shrubberies around one particular house.

I was lucky enough to find this gem at the Alamo draft house in Austin TX one night. With your love of bad movies man you'll feel you're in heaven.

Badass old theater now a badass bar that features classic shit films. Really cool place.

Alright, thanks again homie

I'll just have to watch it and see for myself!

That sounds so amazing, we just don't have anything even closely resembling that here. Just been having a look at their website, and I'm seriously thinking that would be worthy of a trip to Texas.

Man I could go on and on but I won't. I will say this however: I haven't lived in the states in a long time (it's doubtful I ever will again) but if for whatever reason I was forced back Austin is my number 1 all day every day. Texas sucks. I highly recommend flying into Austin then flying out again. If you can find a room during south by Southwest go then. The first 10 days is a film festival followed by the biggest music festival on earth man!!
I once sat in the original batmobile with Adam West in the middle of a bat festival on the south Congress bridge. I went skinny dipping in the middle of town with about 100 other people. Saw world class music regularly. Met Tom morello from ratm, Scott Weiland from stp, George strait (total dick btw), was ten feet from willy Nelson at a Bob Dylan show, was at a party with Mike Judge, creator of King of the hill, but nobody on earth knows what he looks like apparently, man sorry....... I said I wouldn't go on and on and here I am.
Just go to Austin brother. It's heaven on earth.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 30.17% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

haha good idea! have many in my havings!

EFFECTIVE JUNE 17 2018: NEW TIER UPVOTES


Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

You just planted 0.16 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3698.54 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22732.84
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png