Comment Contest: What is your favorite street food?

in #contest6 years ago

Hello, Steemheads!

Week 2 for June's Weekly Comment Contest, and it's still about food. We are done with Pizza, Burger, Cake and Ice Cream, BBQ and now we go to street foods

streetfood1.jpg
Image Source Pixabay

What is your favorite street food or what street food is popular and locally found in your country/city?


Any street food will do. You can have pictures but that's not necessary. Just describe everything about the street food of your choice and make us want to taste it.

Prize scheme will be the same as last week. It will be 50% of the SBD payout goes to the Winner and 50% of the rest goes to everyone who joined. Basically this contest is like a faucet or a splitter, everyone gets to take something. Again, NO LOSERS!

So, that's it! Don't forget to make your posts funny and entertaining because that's how I want them. The funniest and most entertaining comment for me, wins! Down below are the rules, so it's all clear.

Task:

Share about your favorite street food or the street food that is uniquely found in your locality that you are proud of. English comments only. Leave as many comments as you like all through the week. You may include a picture you took of that food but it's not really required.

Prize:

50% of the SBD payout of this post goes to the Grand Winner. The other 50% will be shared by everyone who joins. NO ONE LOSES!

You are not required to make a post, in fact, you are not required to do anything than comment but helping upvote and promote this post will amp the reward pool and will make this even more rewarding for everyone who will join. Please join in the fun!

GAME ON!!!
LEAVE COMMENTS BELOW AND WIN!

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUQfF3M73BHhyekNQq7rpddgdoaaNSCBGkmtqmGgxF3de
Join the house of cool bunch Steemians right here in #steemitachievers!
Follow @steemitachievers.
Join the amazing Pinoy Steemian crypto-heads in #steemitpowerupph!
Follow @steemitpowerupph.

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmVpU1DEDeAhYQMch6azkeSYMSXf8SvsXQVbK98QqHmzQw

Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Support his other brainchild projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops, #steemsecrets and #ulogs. Thank you!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

All I want to eat today is Goto. Maybe its because of the weather. Its too cold today to eat hot goto.

IMG_4811.PNG

Isa ka sa mga napaka healthy na foodie nakilala ko, salamat sa pagsali, Jimi.

Early morning Taho is one of the reason why I love life. Taho pa more 😘
20180613_231049.jpg

Taho is love, too. Soft tofu ata tawag diyan sa English.

My most favorite streetfood is the most popular in the Philippines-BALUT. Aside from being yummy it also beneficial to our body. I can consume ten pieces of Balut in one sitting. I love Balot so much! Here is my post about balut.
https://steemit.com/food/@jasonabejero/balut-or-most-popular-streetfood-in-the-philippines

Bata mo pa para magpalakas ng tuhod. Hahaha! Nice one.

hahaaha..di na po ako bata,sadyang favorite lang talaga at baka kailanganin....haha

My favorite food is tequeño, which consists of a dough of fried wheat flour, stuffed with white cheese. It is customary to accompany with different types of sauces. It is prepared with a dough of wheat flour that wraps a piece of white cheese cut into small rectangular blocks, and fried for about two to three minutes in oil. Once fried, it acquires a cylindrical shape with a crunchy coating on the outside that covers the melted cheese.

Looks like a finger food I'd go crazy about.

my favorite street food are
patacones a traditional Venezuelan food of the zulia state, it is like a kind of hamburger but instead of bread it is replaced by ripe plantain that is sancocha crushed and then it is fried, to that patacon you can add any meat, ground, mechada and even chicken , sauces, salad, a delight

This is so healthy and looks so extra yummy. Thanks for joining.

20180615_182142.jpg
Steamed Pork Siomai dipped in soy sauce with a squeeze of calamansi and some chili garlic of course. One of my favorite street foods that goes well too with a cup of steamed rice....

Nothing is wasted when it's siomai. Busog lusog hahaha!

Capture+_2018-06-15-20-29-48.png
It's "Kwek-Kwek," my favorite street food and yes, indeed is very popular and locally found in our country/city. Kwek-kwek are hard-boiled quail eggs coated in an orange batter which are then deep-fried until crispy. Best dipped into a sweet and sour sauce. But for me, I find it more delicious in a spicy vinegar dip. I then remember my childhood days when my aunt and I usually visits Antipolo Pilgrimage every month of May and we always buy "itlog ng pugo" (quail eggs) sold inside the bus going to Antipolo. I just eat it and dip it on salt while on our trip. Anyways, did you know that they also have this thing called "Tokneneng?" It only differs from Kwek-kwek through the egg size, a much bigger Kwek-kwek that is....

Try this with cucumber with the sauce. Kwek-kwek is love.

My favourite street food is Pad Thai in north Thailand in Chiang Mai where you can get the best food. After that comes banana fritters from the Sunday market in Tapae gate in the centre of the old city in Chiang Mai.

Thanks, I'll look into it; got 1000s of photographs

The street I've always love to eat is bread and beans,waoh I prefer it to any other food reason is that it gives energy,I remember then when I use to go to football training I do eat that and you can see me play through the day,even my coach is always proud of me that I have some energy that I can pay through the day and I won't get tired,he doesn't know the secret is bread and beans

images (5).jpeg
My favorite street food is CHICKEN SHAWARMA, with a lot of green chillies dipped in vinegar. With double cream and slide catchup on it.
How this is made by hands in down pic...
images (6).jpeg

I looooooooove shawarma!!! Hahaha

Isaw would be my favorite street food. The intestine of a chicken or pig, also I want the ones that was cooked in a state where it was almost burned so that it would be really crunchy and would make bad taste go away :D

Dami dami nating team isaw! Hahaha! Thanks for joining.

Hi @mermaidvampire, my favorite streetfood is tokneneng. It is very popular here in Philippines. Its a quail egg with orange flour cover. It is best serve when hot, so a lot of vendors re heat it before they give to it to the customer. Most of the vendor sell it by 4 pieces in a stick. This means the whole stick will cost P 6.00 in Peso. It is dip in vinegar with chili and cucumber. Due to its good taste and affordable cost, many Filipinos really love to eat this streetfoods. Heres the picture of tokneneng :)

FB43236E-69FA-483F-8EA2-BABA7516B0BC.jpeg

Yep, I love them with cucumbers, too! Whew, it makes my mouth watery. Hahaha! Thanks for joining.

Thank you very much @mermaidvampire , i love joining your contest. All are winners! You are very kind!

This! ADIDAS dip in vinegar with garlic and chili...lol!IMG_20180612_174954.jpg
BackpackingPH
Just borrowed a photo, for reference on what's ADIDAS in PH.

Even if it's just dipped in vinegar with pepper and chilli, it's a WOW. I love adidas, too!

My favorite street food are the AREPAS. It is the main dish of my country, Venezuela. It is a product made from corn flour, served with different delicious fillings, and they have very funny names like DOMINÓ(stuffed with black beans and white cheese) REINA PEPIADA (stuffed with chicken salads with mayonnaise and avocado) ROMPE COLCHÓN (Breaks mattress), (stuffed with sea fruits such as octopus, pepitonas, and squid to the vinaigrette).
I FEEL REALLY PROUD OF THIS 100% VENEZUELAN DISH, UNIQUE AND DELICIOUS.

Cover_314c84c2-1f98-4419-ab51-c77f6d83d1cc_1024x1024.jpg

OMG, another Venezuelan dish and it's still so lovely. We can never say that Venezuelan food is boring because gosh, they all look so colorful and extra. I swear Venezuelan food is prolly one of the tastiest dishes on Earth!

Wow this is a beautiful one. My best street food is Fried yam and Plantain,especially with fish sauce. 😋😋 Its really so yummy. In school, that the fastest and most convenient food to eat and affordable.
IMG_20180612_154801_743.jpg
It has cool nutritional values too and thats why I love to eat it.
Plantain has more calories weight for weight than in the fruit bananas. 100 g plantain consists of 122 calories, while dessert banana has 89 calories. Plantains are very reliable sources of starch and energy ensuring food security for millions of households worldwide.
It contains 2.3 g of dietary fiber per 100 g (6% of DRA per 100 g). Adequate amount of Dietary-fiber in the food helps normal bowel movements, thereby reducing constipation problems.
They also provide adequate levels of minerals such as iron, magnesium, and phosphorous. Magnesium is essential for bone strengthening and has a cardiac-protective role as well.

Yam on the other hand is a good source of energy and each 100 grams contain 118 calories. It is mainly composed of complex carbohydrates and soluble fiber. It is an excellent source of B complex vitamins like Vitamin B6, Vitamin B1, riboflavin, folic acid, pantothenic acid and niacin. It also contains a good amount of antioxidants and Vitamin C. It provides around 20% of the required Vitamin C in the body per 100 grams. It also contains small amounts of Vitamin A and beta carotene levels. It is a rich source of minerals like copper, potassium, iron, magnesium, calcium and phosphorus. 100 grams of yam provides 816 mg of Potassium

My favourite street food is sea fish fry found in the beach of cox'sbazar. It is first thing i do when i am visiting cox'sbazar sea beach.

Sounds like a tasty delicacy.

I love Tempura, squid balls and balut. These are just a few of the street food that I love.
20180406_183522.jpg
This is tempura and squid balls. Best serve hot and with sauce.
20180406_183527.jpg
Balut or duck embryo. Famous filipino food. Best eaten with spicy vinegar and salt.

My apology, I ran out of words to describe these foods. 😁😁 But sure they are all delicious!

Yummy, no need for words.

Moi moi (bean pudding) is my favorite street food. Adding cooked and seasoned fish or boiled egg to it increases the nutritional value of this food. The pudding is steamed but there is a baked version of it. Moi moi prepared by steaming is mostly available in Nigeria. The food is packaged in green leaves or aluminum foil.
IMG_20180612_171040.jpg

This is healthy and looks interesting. I bet I will its texture.

This is healthy and
Looks interesting. I bet
I will its texture.

                 - mermaidvampire


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

While cute, this @haikubot comment is considered to be spam, harms the blockchain, and is the reason why we will soon have to pay for comments like this with Resource Credits. The servers that maintain the blockchain are extremely expensive because of comments like this seeking low effort upvotes, so please do not reward this behavior.

Please consider using this link to give a small downvote of 15% or so to discourage these comments.

Any bot like this should respect the community by providing a whitelist to prevent the post in the first place and then provide a way to delete the comment for those who find this intrusive.

When talking about street food, aside from banana cue and camote cue this cotton candy is the first thing came in mind.
cotton-candy.jpg
I fell in love with it when I was in grade school. I like the smell and my eyes mesmerized by its different colors. With your 1 peso coin you can have this huge cotton candy. I remembered my classmates used to ate with it without my permission. They just rightaway get something and ate them... See? With one peso I can share this to many...hahahah

Yeah, we will always watch the seller make magic spinning a cotton candy. Hahaha!

There's a lot of choices in streetfood but "putong balanghoy" or "steamed cassava" is one of my favorite. I easily get full, affordable, at the same time it tastes good especially the grated coconut with sugar.


source

This is common in fishing communities in Cebu, I love this. It makes me so full.

My favorite street food is the Venezuelan hot dog, for me it is the best food I can eat in the streets of Venezuela, the hot dog is prepared with a small bread that carries a sausage inside, cabbage, onion if desired, French fries, tomato sauce, mayonnaise and mustard and that's not the best, when they place their order where they serve, they will have a variety of additional sauces that can add to the hot dog without being limited also adds cheese, it's the best,
I have managed to eat up to 6 of these without exaggerating.

Gosh, I get full with one. Hahaha. Thanks for joining.

Beavertails... mmm... 😋

Image source

A delicious, deep fried pastry founded in Ottawa the year 1978.

Interesting Trivia:
D45A4D7E-A3A1-42BF-98A3-37A11AF6B0FE.jpeg

source

I love Barenaked Ladies, I'd prolly love Beavertails, too! Hahaha! Thanks for joining.

The street food that I love the most is kwek-kwek. I wanted to described it but while reading the comments @princessliz said it all. There's just one thing I want to add up though as to why you should taste it. Hmm. It's because by trying it, you might find your one true love that's how I met mine. Hahahaha. Since then, eating Kwek-Kwek just gives me extra happiness. :)

OMG! My forever better serve me kwek-kwek hahahaha! Thanks for sharing your story and joining.

My fave street food is siomai in a cart, why it's very affordable and delicious too. I love spicy hot sauce.

Siomai is a win always, no waste. All goes into your stomach. Hahaha!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

My street food is Banh Giò. The recipe to do it includes Rice Powder, Pork, Mushroom, Onion, Fish Sauce, chili, a little of Sugar
20170621101148-mon-an-vat-duoi-10-000-2.jpg

That's looks like something I will enjoy eating. Looks like a mix of everything tasty.

Yep, I like it a lot. I hope someday when you visit Viet Nam, I can take you to enjoy it

My favorite street foods are squidroll, banana que, siomai, and isaw. I really love the taste of squid roll compared to squid balls..it makes me come back for more..and also hotcake that is sold in a cart (not the pancake mix that we can buy in the mall).

Yep, that classic hotcake is to die for. Hahahaha!

My favorite burgers!
WP_000451.jpg

You can never go wrong with burgers.

The hot dogs love them with a lot of sauce!

11-different-ways-to-prepare-hot-dogs.jpg

Tacos! In the us. In Mexico. In Ecuador I liked cho chos. They were crunchy fried beans in a bag. In Nepal I like pakora. Yum salty doughy deep fried veggies.

They all sound yummy. I love tacos, it's never boring. Thanks for joining.

The hot dogs love them with a lot of sauce!

11-different-ways-to-prepare-hot-dogs.jpg

This makes me full everytime. Hotdog is like a full meal for me. Thanks for joining.

My favorite Street food is the favorite of most of all Filipinos....
Which is FISHBALL, I don't know why because every time eat fishball I feel comfortable...hahaha
Any way it is because FISHBALL can make me happy😀😁

I make fishball sometimes. Like when we have too much paksiw, I turn them into fishballs.

My favorite street food is Isaw!
[()

Isawww for the win! Thanks for joining.

My favorite street food is CHICKEN INTESTINE or (ISAW) because it is delicious and crispylicious yummy street food and I can eat 5-10 sticks and more especially when eating ISAW with my friends at the street. This is cleaned and inside out and cleaned again several times. Then after a long cleaning process this is being boiled. After the cleaning this is blend with the seasonings that makes it more deliciously yummy. Then after seasoning "Chicken Intestine"/ISAW were ready for grilled it is usually on stick. I myself really loves to dipped the Chicken Intestine to sweet and spicy sauce made of vinegar with sukang pinakurat, onions, peppers and other spices. This is yummy and I swear try to taste it! This is good and popular in my hometown at Cebu, Philippines. Try it to believe it!

Thanks for this chance @mermaidvampire Have a nice day ahead!!

Team isaw din ako! Hahaha! Thanks for joining.

hi @mermaidvampire my favorite street food is Balut. This food is very popular here in the philippines and most of the people in other country trying to eat this and this can be their balut eating challenge :). thank you :)27332330_435747766843062_7482113839923319220_n.jpg

That's a lot of balut, it will make me high blood hahahaha. I can finish 7 baluts before when I was healthy because they are so tasty specially the sauce. Thank for joining.

The hot dogs are the maximum. Nothing compares to them.

Yep, hotdogs are so inviting.

My street food is the Nigerian bole and fish. This is simply roasted plantain and rotated fish. It is common in the southern part of Nigeria. It is eaten with a kind of pepper sauce. It's actually really nice.
images-2.jpg

Hmmm. I might try this, plantain and pepper sauce and some roasted fish. Thank you for joining.

I can't imagine a cassava pancake but it looks inviting just like the regular flour hotcakes. I hope I can eat this soon.

Bukidnon is abundant with cassava flour which gave birth of this delectable sweet treat by as time goes by the market of cassava flour industry drastically change and it affects all small farmers who depend on cassava flour planting, milling and factory industry. We hope this matter will finally be settled with our local government.

My favorite food is Tempura. It is one of my favorite foods since it was my grandfathers business before, Its also reminds me a lot of my beloved grandfather. I really loves to eat tempura even for forever.

Amazing because I don't know what tempura is made of. You should continue his legacy of making them.

My faaaaaaaaaaaaave street foood eveeeeer is tempura!!! I always eat tempura when we are about to go home from school together with my friends. There is a stall near the jeepney stop where we waited for jeepneys. I used to finish 5 orders of them, that's when I have a lot of money tho 😂. It was sold 10php for 3 pieces before but then it's already 12php now. Huhu i criiiii

I love it with pipino, sweet and sour sauce then the hot one. Hahaha! Thanks for joining.

Hi @mermaidvampire , this is my favorite street food fried fishball, you can easily find this in every corner of the street here in the Philippines. This is very popular here because of its cheaper price , 2pcs for only 1 peso. And you will surely enjoy the sauce with diffeent variety , sweet sauce which composed of mixed brown sugar , soysauce ,flour or cornstarch and red onion and garlic just mixed together and stir until sticky , or another sauce common to all vendors of street foods- sour sauce containing vinegar , pepper , garlic and onion and chilli.

streetfud.jpg

If you or the fishball does not go away, you don't realize your money in your pocket is draining. Hahaha!

one of my favorite streetfoods...

IMG20180509171539.jpg

Sarap ng isawwwwwwww. Hahaha!

Good

Roasted corn on a cob.

The smell, the taste, so heavenly

Yes, but here in the Philippines it's expensive. I buy one at the gate of the hospital I go to, costs 0.5 USD or 25 Philippine Peso.

My favorite street food is tokneneng ang takoyaki balls. I just can't resist to buy one whenever I see a vendor selling in the street. The tokneneng is very tasty and the takoyaki balls is very delicious especially when the sauce is mixed with it.

Yep, I agree they are so addicting. Hahaha!

Hi @mermaidvampire,this is my entry to your Comment Contest:What is your favorite Street food?
I have photos of Goto,squid rolls and tempura.Goto is like a "pospas"made of rice,with eggs on it.The next foods are tempura and squid rolls.I love to it when it's still hot and the sauce is spicy ala "number 5".With these kind of streetfoods,i'll burp for sure!But,it cannot be called streetfood when there's no fly or flies roaming around in the street or where you are eating by.lol.



Hahaha! We don't mind the flies as long as it's yummy.

Favorite ko kwek kwek!!! :D Before, i really don't eat something with boiled eggs on them. I don't really know why. I mean, eggs tastes yummy to me but after i eat them, i always throw up. Oooppps. :D But one day, my churchmate asked me out to eat kwek kwek. I was a bit hesitant because kwek kwek are boiled eggs. But when i tried it, it tasted so good with the pickles :) And a bit of chili powder. :) Kwek kwek is really the only food that have boiled egg that i eat. And it's my favorite <3

Hala girl, parehas ta. Kanang hard boiled sa una, ako na isuka kay bahog utot. Hahaha! Pero mukaon kog balut og kwek-kwek ug tokneneng. Oh di ba? Milagro. Hahahahaha!

Haha!! :D As in? Nganu kaha na nuh? Milagro gyud kaayo. Hahaha :D

I love to eat chicken intestine BBQ very affordable and I can easily make it at home.

Oo nga, mura to per kilo, tapos kung gusto mo malinis, mas nice talaga homemade.

My favorite streetfood is BAlOt. Balot is delicious and best eat when hot and in the dark. I like the feeling to put it on my mouth "the whole balot" and it is also nutritious. More more delicious paired with vinegar with onions, chili, garlic and salt (sauce). Thanks for this contest God bless.

Hahaha kung wala lang ako sakit, kaya ko 7 na balut eh. HAHAHA! Lalo na dati nanonood ako basketball pag summer, sa gabi, snack ko balut. Thanks for joining.

There are 2 pages
Pages