Every good homestead needs a good mouser!!!!

in #contest6 years ago

@knowledge-seeker has a nifty little homestead photo contest going on! This is one of my entries!

>>contest link HERE!<<

We were fighting a losing battle with mice. They were eating the chicken food, pooping in my outbuilding, and leaving poop all over the chicken coop. I didn't want the chickens eating the poop and getting sick. I also couldn't poison the rats because I run the risk of poisoning the chickens too. We keep a rotating door of cats here. It seems the pattern is, get cat, cat has kittens, mamma cat weens kittens, mamma cat leaves for a better life under a coconut tree on a deserted beach somewhere. This has happened so many times! These kittens survived the floods from Harvey but decided they wanted that **beach life** We miss them, but as soon as spring gets here, we will find another kitty to take over the night watch!


Sort:  

I really enjoyed your photos! Cats can really help with controlling the mice population. We also do not like using chemicals because we are also worried that we will cause harm to our animals. I am sure that you will find another night watch cat soon. Great Job!

In 1987, cats overtook dogs as the number one pet in America (about 50 million cats resided in 24 million homes in 1986). About 37% of American homes today have at least one cat.

I believe it!

If a cat is frightened, the hair stands up fairly evenly all over the body; when the cat is threatened or is ready to attack, the hair stands up only in a narrow band along the spine and tail.

mine didnt seem to be frightened of much!

A cat can jump 5 times as high as it is tall.

so every time i reply i get a fun fact?

British cat owners spend roughly 550 million pounds yearly on cat food.

"so every time i reply i get a fun fact?" HAHAHAHA!!!

Not a cat person, I'm allergic but I do know they have their place. If I had land where I had rat/mouse issues I would get some to take care of them! There used to be a couple roaming the neighborhood, now that they have been gone a few years now the chipmunk population is out of control!

I’ve never been a cat person and these stayed outside...not in the house. They did grow on me after a while! The ones we had were super affectionate