This is the BEES KNEES!

in #contest6 years ago
@knowledge-seeker had a photo contest so I decided to get my toes in the water with this one! When one thinks of animals on the homestead, they usually think of cows and goats...I had a different idea!

>>Contest LINK here<<
I got a call one day from a local church that they had a big ball of bees in a tree in the parking lot. The facility was having some sort of shindig coming up and wanted the bees gone so no one would get stung and they asked if I could do it! Of course I said yes! After getting sick and losing my health and job, I threw myself into my hobby and decided this was the fastest way to learn more and build up my Apiary (Bee yard). All but my oldest son loves working the bees so I brought them all along and was successful at getting the bees from the tree into a larger box in my Home Apiary!


The bees all settled in a new bee box!



Sort:  

This was a great take on the contest theme! A few years ago, we had two swarms show up at our property, but unfortunately we were not ready for them. We are hoping to get started with bees in the near future, but we still have some work to do. Great Job!

Excellent Job! Much better than killing them, which is what most people would do!

I worked my butt off this summer to save as many as I could then in one swoop, killed every hive in the flood! Just didn't know how bad it was going to get!

Man that sucks...so are you saying that the bees didn't leave the hive and just stayed in the box only to be killed? I wonder why they didn't leave?