You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Bit Curious Contest #2 100 SBD in Prizes - 7-10-18

in #contest6 years ago

The one thing about Steemit that I dislike is that there is a period in which you can make money on your post. This is peculiar and specific to Steemit alone. What do I mean?

You see you post your article and then you have likes and comments and you make money. But the money that you make in seven days is all that counts. By the seventh day, your payout happens and thereafter, even if you have views or upvotes it doesn’t really count. In other words, writing ever-green articles doesn’t make any sense. It may live beyond seven days but it hardly earns anything for the author. This is different from the way other sites operate.

I blog on other websites too and of course, unlike Steemit, they make money through ads and hence it is possible for them to continue giving us income on our ever-green articles. But look at the flipside on Steemit, I will not take pains to research and write an article which anyway from an author’s perspective will have about 7 days of shelf-life. After that, even if Google picks it up and people, in general, read it, it hardly adds anything to the author, other than goodwill and reputation (which is good in my opinion).

So, this is one thing that I dislike about Steemit. Also, other things that I disliked when I started:

  1. Take a hike even with good articles – Because no whale is going to see you and those that do see you don’t have enough upvote power. Of course, you do make friends

  2. Comparatively useless articles make it to trending – Anyone with enough Steem and SBD can use the Whale Bots and get himself to trending. Thankfully, with @Steemcleaners, @buildawhale, @cheetah and other bots, this aspect is diminishing a bit. That said, minnows still find it difficult to gain recognition

  3. The biggest problem is that there is no one to tell minnows how to survive on Steemit. I, myself, lost interest after the initial few attempts and lay low for 4 months. Only after that, I came back again. So, just imagine how many good authors we must have lost!

Well, these are few of my thoughts.