What In The World Is This?? - Contest!

in #contest6 years ago

0.5 SBD to the FIRST person who can properly identify what exactly this bug is! (and prove that you are correct). Upvotes for everyone who participates.
image

I saw it crawling on the beach last week here at Lake Atitlan, Guatemala. It looks for all the world like a Giant Black Bee and as you can see, it's almost as big as my (not small!) big toe!
image

Never seen anything like this before so instead of trying to Google it myself I figured why not make it a quick, fun contest?

So good luck all! Cheers! 😎

Sort:  

Sonoran carpenter bees?

Also, please don't feel obligated to answer, but I am very curious, you've been on Steemit since October 2016 but you have no blog posts and only a handful of comments? What happened? Did you forget about Steemit and just start using it now? Or?....

(I love a good mystery 😎 )

Yeah, I just came back this last week. I signed up a long time ago, then mostly forgot about it. Since then I've been working on other crypto projects, and another friend reminded me about Steemit. I'm not big on blogging, but I do intend to start writing about LBRY. Thanks for asking! :D

Aww man, I bet you're kicking yourself at least a little bit for that, eh? :P I know I super regret not signing up back in June 2017 when I had the chance. Making Steem back in 2016 woulda made you Golden now. But hey, hindsight is always 20/20 and no time like the present and all that, right? ;)

What are some of your other crypto projects, if I may ask?

LBRY (LBC), XP Coin, and Tezos (XTZ) are the ones I'm involved in the most. I'm trying out Gridcoin because I used to love to donate CPU power for Seti@home. I'm just learning about Steemit, as I'm looking for other ways to use LBRY with other crypto projects. LBRY is a natural to integrate with Steemit posts. If you're unfamiliar with LBRY, check it out here: https://lbry.io/get

I will do that, thanks @kaiwhaine. I'm still very new to the crypto world and have been filling my head with info. It can be a bit overwhelming at times. So any and all useful tips and good information are always greatly appreciated.

Yes indeed, you are correct @kaiwahine! It is definitely a female Sonoran Carpenter Bee! Thanks! I had no idea bees could be that big!

Zophobas Morio is the name of tge bug

Thanks for your input, but it is definitely not a Zophobas Morio. Cheers!

And there's the Proof!

Congratulations @kaiwahine! 0.5 SBD has been transferred to your account!

Thank you! :D

maybe a wasp ?

I wouldn't consider your entry an Epic fail, @epic-fail, but it's defnitely not a wasp 😋

Thanks for your entry and good luck next time!

Un abejorro

It's is a bee, but not an Abejorro. Thanks for your entry! Good luck next time!

un insecto

Haha it definitely is an insect! But I already had thatpart all figured out 😉

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness