[FICTION CONTEST] One Day in 2040 - Announcement of Winners

in #contest6 years ago

I was delighted to have 17 entries on my One Day in 2040 contest.

This was the first time that I had run a fiction contest like this so I really didn't know what to expect.

In the end the contest received a whole array of fascinatingly different views of our near future.

2040 is just 23 years from now. Most of us hopefully will still be alive.

I chose this time period as I first set up my internet business 23 years ago this month. In that time I have seen digital technology expand and advance at an astonishing, and sometimes quite alarming, rate.

Project that same timespan forward and you get to 2040.

The pace of change and development is accelerating at an ever faster pace. Riding alongside that the changes that society is seeing are becoming ever more exaggerated and impactful.

The contest entries explored that future from many different angles and with many different aspect ratios - utopian to full on dystopian. Take your pick.

It made for good reading.

As ever with such contests the judging was not easy, and with so many entries it was harder still.

However it is a contest so there must be winners.

I made my winning selections based on a whole range of factors including quality of writing, closeness to the brief, presentation, feasibility of the timescale and just how much I enjoyed reading them.


Here then is my list of winning entries :


My congratulations to all the winners. And my major thanks to @Mikepm74 and @gmuxx for sponsoring the prizes for the contest.

I will be sending the SBD prizes to the winners later on Friday.

I am happy to discuss the entries further with any of the contestants. Just catch me on Discord.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to enter. Let me know if you would like me to run another similar contest. If there is enough interest maybe we could do One Day in 2060...



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[image from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0]

Sort:  

What a great birthday present! Thank you @pennsif and congratulations to the other winners, as well. I'm only familiar with the work of one of them (@csbegu) so I look forward to getting to know these other writers! It was a great contest prompt. Thanks again to you and to @mikepm74 and @gmuxx for sponsoring the prizes!

Happy birthday and congrats!

Thank you for your entry and congratulations. You should now have received your prize.

Thank you @pennsif! That's a fantastic surprise to wake up to this morning!

And congratulations to all the winning entries and indeed everyone who wrote. I loved the different views of the future. There was a huge amount of imagination shown and lots of great reads!

Congratulations @miniature-tiger, great entry. You should now have received your prize.

Thanks @pennsif! I confirm. And great timing! I switched it straight into Steem this morning after the SBD pump.

I'm honored. Thank you for a lateral idea and congratulations to all who participated.

Awesome! Thank you for brightening my day @pennsif! Congratulations to all the other winners!

Thanks @Pennsif , It was a lot of fun..Congrats to the other winners. God bless.

Oh what a great topic way to think outside of the box @pennsif love it. I just want to still be alive at 2040. Strong possibility that I just might make it to 69. LOL just gotta keep gardening and eating the healthy stuff.

Congrats to all of the winners. Looks like things went really well here! Glad to be able to help make this contest happen!

Thank you for doing so, it sparked lots of great stories!

Congratulations to the winners. Really shows the talent to be found here on steemit. Thanks to the sponsors for a great contest.

Thanks for attending Pimp Your Post Thursday @pennsif. I have written a post to share your featured post from last night. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your [name in lights](https://steemit.com/pypt/@shadowspub/pimp-your-post-thursday-report-6b-evening-report-from-nov-23rd-pypt) right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

This was a good one! I am second guessing taking a break for a couple weeks...Sorry i missed this...may have to go back and check out those articles. Blessings, Oh I thought of you on the 18th, did you get the puppy!

Melissa