Contest Time

in #contest6 years ago

How many creatures do you see and how many can you name?

IMG_0996.JPG

Rules are simple:

  1. Correctly name all of the creatures that you can identify in this image (common or scientific).

  2. List your answers in the comments below. The person with the most species identified correctly wins!

  3. The winner will receive 10 steem! Winner will be announced on Monday evening.

Good luck and thanks for playing!

Scott

Sort:  

Mashroom coral
Yellow boring coral
Asparagus Algae
Soft coral
Black coral
Eye coral
Arthritic spider
Sea sponges
Red turf algae
Milleporine hydro coral
Brown turf algea

All I see is an egg

  1. Pipehorse
  2. Lined Seahorse
  3. Juvenile Warty Frogfish
  4. Cryptic Teardrop Crab
  5. Harlequin Shrimp (Hymenocera picta)

Yellow foam fish
Red carbunkle thing
White dongplant
Orange fungus
Sir Moss-a-lot
Prickly hell coral
The cauliflower one

Carnation tree cord
Eye coral
Mashroom coral
Red turf algae
Broun turf algea
Yellow boring coral
Tubipora
Sea sponges
Milleporine hydro coral
Amplexidisas
Black coral
Soft coral
Thomes mashroom
Ricordea

a very beautiful post, Cool

Lovely photograph. Here for the results. I hope to know all the names at the end. Reading through the comment, I have learnt a great deal. Thanks for the challenge.

  1. Cave Fan Coral (Melithaea sp.)
    Also known as Gorgonian Sea Fans, Octocorals, Gorgonian Fan Coral, Fan Coral
    2.Anna's Magnificent Slug (Chromodoris annae)
    3.Antler Coral (Pocillopora eydouxi)
    Also known as Branching Corals, Cauliflower Coral, Brush Coral, Elkhorn Coral
    4.Arthritic Spider Shell (Lambis chiragra arthritica)
    Also known as Arthritic Spider Conch and Spider Shell
    5.Asparagus Algae (Asparagopsis taxiformis)
    Also known as Red Algae, Seaweed, Asparagus Seaweed, Marine Seaweed, Iodine Weed, Macro Algae.
    6.Aurora Shrimpgoby (Amblyeleotris aurora)
    Also known as Shrimp Gobies, Aurora Prawn-goby, Pink-bar Shrimp-goby, Pink-bar Goby, Pink-bar Partner Goby, Beautiful Prawn-goby.
    7.Aureopurpurea Nudibranch (Chromodoris aureopurpurea)
    Also known as Nudibranchs and Gold-spotted Chromodoris
    8.Cauliflower Soft Coral (Scleronephthya sp.)
    Also known as Soft Tree Corals, Tree Coral, Dendronephthya sp., Nephtheid Soft Coral, Broccoli Coral, Flower Tree Coral, Strawberry Coral.

wow i don know even one :D


Found on coral and rocky reefs in areas of slow currents, also very turbid areas often branching out from vertical walls and hanging from cave ceilings.
The bigger fan corals often have a corkscrew effect on the main stems.
They feed on plankton.
Length - 1m
Depth - 20-40m
Widespread Indo-Pacific

Most soft corals have no true skeleton and so their bodies are flexible

See this picture learn and remember this...It's beautiful

yes so beautiful thnk you for detail :D

I think we have a winner. Next! :D

Don't know time will say ...And it's really difficult to identify from a picture.I just try and write this name from my book...
Thank you @leeart

Though I count 9 different species, I can't tell you their name though... What an awesome contest, I love it!

Thanks for giving us the chance to participate and earn extra Steem.

Namaste :)

I can see at least 12 species at least.
Most of the species blow are from anthozoan coelentrata phylum
Hope I will be correct.
Jelly fish.
Red turf algae.
Yellow boring coral.
Eye coral.
Tubipora sponges.

Mashroomcoral
Zoochlorelae.
IMG_20180218_110710.jpg
A small skeltonof fish which I didn't appreciate. I have labeled the pic blow too.
Regards

Don't edit...😒

I added the no. Of species, what I forgot to write in first instance, thanks for reminder.
Ohh, I was not aware that you had copied mine voted it to be on top.
I thought it was some one else, sorry bro. The reward must be given to genuine one, hope that may be you, though different account of yours.

Black coral
Soft coral
Carnation tree cord
Eye coral
Mashroom coral
Red turf algae
Broun turf algea
Yellow boring coral
Tubipora
Sea sponges
Milleporine hydro coral
Amplexidisas
Thomes mashroom
Ricordea

Jelly fish
Tubipora
Mashroom
Tree coral
Arthritic spider
Anchor coral
Nudibranch
Asparagus algae

i just follow and upvote to your post ,, so kindly follow me back and upvote at given link ,, then i will upvote to your five more posts

https://steemit.com/photography/@awais55/village-life-in-united-kingdom-how-cute-is-that

Wonderful this photography.... i appreciate this contest. best of luck

its too hard i cant eve see one

Wow..amazing photography..i appreciate your contest thanks for sharing this post..Best of luck ..

Amoeba, cnideria, Eastern emerald Elysia, mutillidae, cicadas, valvet ant

I see a sea sponge and a sea snail of some kind! LOL! The rest are various coral (I think...) Looks beautiful, @scotttdphoto :)

This is one really difficult competition, still I'll gave this a try and I have found Coral Reefs and probably puffer fish.

wonderful photography... vote and reward.

Find one Asparagus Algae (Asparagopsis taxiformis) 😭

I can only identify moshroom or something like that.

nice click.....amazing photography...... i wanna to do like this photography.

i feel like john snow... i know no species in this photo, i know that's a coral though, does that count xD

Let's see, I'm no biologist, but I see:

  • one egg over-easy
  • three boiled eggs
  • several bunches of cherries
  • half a cantaloupe
  • some kumquats
  • a squash
  • baby spinach leaves
  • some goji berries
  • raw wheat

So basically, I see breakfast. Fun contest! I doubt I'll beat @jcobs , but hey, it's worth a shot!

ha ha ha
I think that

Wow... You are my inspiration brothers.. keep post best photo of you.

Nice photography and contest but i will leave it for the biologist

I couldn't possibly but that is so beautiful!!! Where is this shot?

When you constantly read about coral bleaching it's so refreshing to see this!!

Wow so amazing, what a brilliant idea

your post is very good, i like it

Snails
Soft Coral red acropora
Poritidae
Rhizangiidae
pellillo or sangosango
😊😊😊😀

Wow...I have no liver to participate anymore, some people really do their homework on seafoods

But i cant find nemo :D

Brilliant photography i must say. I myself is passionate about photography but never been such perfectionist. Still learning. Ok coming back to contest, i can see following:

  1. Antler coral
  2. Cauliflower soft coral
  3. Sponges (poriferans)
  4. Types of algae (red turf algae, asparagus and invasive algae)
  5. Anna's magnificent slug
  6. Sea shells
    Hope i win......fingers crossed
    Thanks

Yellow boring coral
Carnation tree cord
Soft coral
Black coral
Eye coral
Arthritic spider
Sea sponges
Milleporine hydro coral
Mashroom coral
Red turf algae
Broun turf algea

All I know is Coral! I'll be back on Monday to learn ;)

I don't know anyone. Would love to know more about this beauties, perhaps you'd do more posts like this so people like myself are better informed.