You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A believer in the teardrop token, more views about the steemit campus invasion and a contest for 1 lucky winner

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

My Entry Into The Contest

Am olanipekun adebola, a student of Oduduwa university studying quantity surveying, am presently in my part 5 and I want to appreciate @destinysaid for this privilege to share a little about my self and my experience.
I'm an artist. I mean a guy that would go through any length to record a junk or a demo just for people to listen to what I'm up to. I started as a child but no one could help, encourage or appreciate me. Most time I sing then, people looked down on me and make several jokes out of me. My father would say go and bring your books and after series of home work, he will then say "sit down there and shut up your mouth". I could as well remember uncle Taofeek, he will always tell me to go sweep the floor or clean his shoes if i have no work to do.Sometimes I cried, I get mad at myself but someone always got me and pull me back to my feet; my Mother. She will always cuddle round me and say; my son, always do well that which you know is right. That's me again, bouncing back and moving on with life.

Becoming a super star has been all I want all my life. I want to be that one artist everyone wish to listen to when they wake up in the morning and likewise when they sleep at night but things changed along the line.
Though God has been my backbone but my mother, who has always been there for me both financially and with her words of encouragement, died. I was so sad that i cried bitterly for years. Since i quit schooling, my father decided not to help with a dime again. He said he doesn't believe in my music and have got no one else to run to because i have no job as well. Now everything starts changing. My music after few years was now lacking behind. I couldn't visit the studio to record, I couldn't promote the tracks I recorded before time and I hardly write new songs because all I then think of is how to get a daily food to survive. I was so disappointed that I cried every time, questioned and blamed myself for the kinda lifestyle I'm living.
After many years of my stay at home and quest in becoming a star, I later realise I'm not too old to get in a university. I visited my dad, apologized and told him I want to continue with my studies. God so good, he was so happy to hear that and promised to help with his money.
I started schooling again when I met a friend. He's a producer. He did listened to my songs and he likes them. So we started working together. Now I'm progressing as I'm getting to meet more and popular music stars, and am doing fine with my studies at least am in my final year.