A Dash of Sult N Papper 07/11/20> Contest Rules and HIVE Saturday Give Away… Enter Now!

in #contest4 years ago

image.png

Today is the...

Today is the day! No more waiting around for this contest to start; it officially starts now and runs through 7/18/20 and entries close at 10:00PM Texas time that night.

As much as I hate rules there has to be a few and you just read the first one, when the contest ends. Now here are a few more:
Contest Rules:
1.) Entries must be submitted as a “reply” to this contest announcement only.
2.) Multiple entries allowed but limited to one entry per day per HIVE registered account.
3.) Prizes: 1st place $25__ 2nd place $15__ 3rd place $10 (Prizes awarded in the form of HIVE)
4.) Sult N Papper reserves the right to alter the rules (but not likely) and will decide the 1st, 2nd, & 3rd
place winners

5.) Bonus Prize: The entry with the most up-votes will win the “People’s Choice Award” of $10 HIVE
.
6.) In the event that a same quote is entered by more than one person the earliest entry will be recognized as a valid entry.

So now you...

So now you know the rules and here is what the subject matter is that your entry needs to be; a “quote” .

A quote you believe to be worth submitting that can easily be found on the internet via some search type engine. The person quoted doesn’t necessarily have to be famous or a political figure or an athlete but quotes from those types of people are most easily accessible.

I will be...

I will be deciding the winners and I’ll give you tip. I’m doing this contest for me not you; I plan on using more quotes in my Dashes going forward and want a stock pile of quotes easily accessible to me in one place. Those of you who read the Dash regularly should have a pretty good idea of what quotes would fit my writing.

Right now I've...

Right now I’ve got other business to attend to; like the usual Saturday HIVE Giveaway. This week’s winners are @inthenow , @daznez , and @macchiata .

@inthenow wrote a great piece about 10 or so days ago that I fully agree with and I missed it when it was within the “earnings period” so in support of his post I’ve selected him this week as a winner. Keep telling it like it is buddy and drop by the poker tables more often.

@daznez popped up this week around the Dash and after a couple of “back and forth” comments it seems we are of the same opinion on a lot of things. But that isn’t necessarily why he won; I select folks who disagree with me quite often as winners. He has been selected for his song writing and sharing his message via music and lyrics. I really like that approach but you won’t be seeing me going down that road anytime soon. I couldn’t carry a tune if they put it in a paper sack and tied it shut for me to carry it.

Last but not least is @macchiata and she just seems “precious” to me and I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels that way about her. She made one comment, on a reply that I made to one of @bigtom13 *‘s blog posts. From that one comment I knew pretty much; enough to deem her as “precious”.
For those of you in the south I don’t mean ‘precious’ as in “bless her heart” precious either. I mean it in the purest sense of the word. Her and I have been on “opposite sides of the same fence” before and can appreciate having been there; same goes for Tom too.

Okay, this is...

Okay, this is usually where I end on Saturdays but I do need to update a couple things. The gambling trip for the wife and son went off without any hitches and he managed to come back a winner from his first gambling trip.

Today the girls are headed out with our friend Pattie and her granddaughter Peyton to celebrate Peyton’s 12th birthday. I swear Daisy and Pattie must read the Dash and just won’t admit it; of all the places to go (despite the shutdowns) they are headed to Cut and Shoot*, Texas to visit the East Texas Elephant Experience. I can’t wait to hear if they get a glimpse of Dumbo flying.

Also on Friday, I had the pleasure of meeting a naked faced young man at Eva’s Taco Stand. I struck up a conversation with him and commended him for not having a mask on. We visited for maybe six or seven minutes inside and another four or five outside about just how screwed up things are here in Texas and the US.
I mentioned to him that I write a blog and it turns out he used to be on FIRED but left some time ago. He wasn’t aware of the HIVE fork so I briefly filled him in. He said he was going to check HIVE out and I told him how to find me, I hope he does make his way by here and drops a comment in the future.

The county judge and the governor would have a heart attack (wishful thinking) had they seen what happened as we parted ways, we shook each others hand.

Until next time,
Sult

FYI: *Cut and Shoot is the real name of the town, population around 1,350 people.
* @bigtom13 also receives $1.00 HIVE for his mention today

Photo credits: Sult N Papper

Sort:  

It is well enough that people of the nation do not understand our banking and monetary system, for if they did, i believe there would be a revolution before tomorrow morning. - Henry Ford

I believe this is even more true today.
If people being evicted from their houses knew all this was all because of fractional reserve lending, there wouldn't be a bank left standing.

BLM eat your heart out.

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” ― Edmund Burke.

“The average dog is a nicer person than the average person.”
– Andy Rooney

image.png

Here's one for you @sultnpapper!

Good friends, good books and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life.

Mark Twain

As a matter of fact, WHO didn’t announce the coronavirus as a pandemic until the very day after Gates — who had wished for some time that WHO would declare the coronavirus a pandemic — well, until the very day after Gates made a very large donation to a cause that benefits WHO.

Source: https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2020/apr/2/bill-gates-and-his-coronavirus-conflicts-of-intere/

💯% Agree✍🏻

“The more things are forbidden, the more popular they become.”
― Mark Twain

leftwingor5c1d2a.jpg

Not eactly sure the source but it is near the rear.

https://images.app.goo.gl/hYM4Y3Hyr87uqNdH9

Just heard that alcohol sales are forbidden again with immediate effect so I'm just hoping that's where it ends as our government are so unpredictable with irrational decisions and could just make us go into a hard lockdown again! How this Covid or the governments' reactions rather, has turned our world upside down!
One of my favourite phrases is by Mahatma Gandhi -

If you want to change the world, be that change.

“If the American people ever allow private banks to control the issue of their currency, first by inflation, then by deflation, the banks and corporations that will grow up around them will deprive the people of all property until their children wake-up homeless on the continent their fathers conquered."
-Thomas Jefferson

!BEER

Great news for you @definethedollar , whether you know it or not, by clicking the follow button today made you my 888 follower. Part of my history on FIRED has been to reward all the "triple digit" followers with currency of the site in the amount of the number. I just transferred $8.88 HIVE to your account. Thanks for your support!

Woah! Insanely awesome! Thanks!!! 🤩

!BEER

I've been accused of being "insane" before, but never "awesome" that I can remember. You are very welcome.


Hey @sultnpapper, here is a little bit of BEER from @definethedollar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

many thanks sir, have a blessed weekend!

i write songs, make memes, protest lockdowns, also available for weddings & barmitzvahs..

fight for your children 1024.jpg

Thank you so much for those kind words. I learned the phrase bless her heart from itssouthernthing!

I like to watch that channel because there are some similarities with Indonesian culture where I live. Especially the sweet tea and catfish hehehe

Well I just happened to have this quote on my hard drive since I used it for a post once.

Pete Rose Hustle.jpg

Nobody hustled on a baseball diamond like Pete Rose. Nobody probably hustled away from the diamond like Rose either, but that's a story for a different day. Still it's a good quote since I have found working hard can overcome most hurdles.

My favorite Pete Rose: "It ain't bragging if you can do it."

Here's mine. I love a good debate and abhor when people enter into one with a totally closed mind.

"To argue with a person who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine

Wow. You've lit up a real fire here! Thanks for the mention and the hive, too.

image.png

My very favorite from Mark Twain.

Oh man, it's a good thing those contact tracers didn't see you actually shaking hands with someone! It's so strange to have to think twice about doing something that is so human and normal.

Here's my entry. This was a dire (and prophetic) warning from Dwight D. Eisenhower delivered in one of his speeches,

"In the councils of government, we must guard against the acquisition of unwarranted influence, whether sought or unsought, by the military-industrial complex. The potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will persist." ~ Dwight D. Eisenhower


Here's the entire speech:

Until the latest of our world conflicts, the United States had no armaments industry. American makers of plowshares could, with time and as required, make swords as well. But we can no longer risk emergency improvisation of national defense. We have been compelled to create a permanent armaments industry of vast proportions. Added to this, three and a half million men and women are directly engaged in the defense establishment. We annually spend on military security alone more than the net income of all United States corporations.

Now this conjunction of an immense military establishment and a large arms industry is new in the American experience. The total influence—economic, political, even spiritual—is felt in every city, every Statehouse, every office of the Federal government. We recognize the imperative need for this development. Yet, we must not fail to comprehend its grave implications. Our toil, resources, and livelihood are all involved. So is the very structure of our society.

In the councils of government, we must guard against the acquisition of unwarranted influence, whether sought or unsought, by the military-industrial complex. The potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will persist. We must never let the weight of this combination endanger our liberties or democratic processes. We should take nothing for granted. Only an alert and knowledgeable citizenry can compel the proper meshing of the huge industrial and military machinery of defense with our peaceful methods and goals, so that security and liberty may prosper together.


Have a great weekend!


Hi @sultnpapper! I think Dr. Suess made a lot of sense.

Heart On A Course L.png

"You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose." -Dr. Seuss


“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” — Reinhold Niebuhr


"...the wisdom to know the difference." has always been the hardest part for me.

Lets just trash everything and burn it all 😝


Hey @sultnpapper, here is a little bit of BEER from @definethedollar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I've been challenged with this quote just recently in my life and this is what I took to in making a big life decision! So I feel I'd be doing injustice if I chose any other quote above this ;)

There will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.
-J.K Rowling

Thanks for the mention, and the Hive, much appreciated my friend. And I do need to play more poker lol. :D Here is my quote:

"Three great forces rule the world: stupidity, fear and greed."
Albert Einstein

"Think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are stupider than that!" George Carlin

“Being human is a team sport. We cannot be fully human alone. Anything that brings us together fosters our humanity. Likewise, anything that separates us makes us less human.” - Douglas Rushkoff

[quote removed]

Hi there, this is my favorite quote recently.

"It is not in the nature of politics that the best men should be elected. The best men do not want to govern their fellowmen." - George MacDonald

George MacDonald was an author whose work inspired the likes of Tolkien. Very good stuff :)

“ A silver-tongued charlatan and a half-wit society are made for each other! When these two come together in an election, a great disaster happens: Charlatan comes to power!

Mehmet Murat ildan

“Live as though you will die tomorrow. Learn as though you will live forever.” Mahatma Ghandi

This quote makes so much sense to me at this stage of life!

Instead of politicians, let the monkeys govern the countries; at least they will steal only the bananas!

My entry for the contest

Hi @sultnpapper! Here is my quote by Jim Fowler ... "There's no denying that television is one of the most powerful propaganda media we've ever invented."

“If you don’t design your own life plan, chances are you’ll fall into someone else’s plan. And guess what they have planned for you? Not much.”

Jim Rohn

Hello again @sultnpapper!! Here is another quote that I really like by Mike Rowe! He is a big advocate of trade schools and you may know of him from a show called "Dirty Jobs". He is from my hometown also. "Dirt used to be a badge of honor. Dirt used to look like work. But we've scrubbed the dirt off the face of work, and consequently we've created this suspicion of anything that's too dirty."

Hey @deerjay you should check out my photographies of deer 🙂

“The man who views the world at fifty the same as he did at twenty has wasted thirty years of his life.”

Muhammed Ali

“There is one path in the world that none can walk but you. Where does it lead? Don’t ask, walk!”

Friedrich Nietzsche

The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far.

The sciences, each straining in its own direction, have hitherto harmed us little; but some day the piecing together of dissociated knowledge will open up such terrifying vistas of reality, and of our frightful position therein, that we shall either go mad from the revelation or flee from the light into the peace and safety of a new dark age.

H.P. Lovecraft

This quote still haunts me.

🌷

Hi @sultnpapper and thank you for hosting this contest! This is my last entry. A quote by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow .."Into each life some rain must fall".

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough. — Mae West