You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #27: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SB prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

If You Must Lie, Be Brief

I got on a bus this evening on my way back home from work and got a seat beside this extraordinarily beautiful lady. I noticed she was busy chatting or something on her Iphone and was looking for any means to get her to notice me.
So I took out my phone and pretended to be making a call:
“Hello Mr. Kunle. I was told you have the shipments ready to move. That is good. This is how it will be going down. You’ll send me your account details and I’ll send half the payment. Once my goods arrive, you will get the remaining fifty million naira.”
Glancing at the girl, I could see her looking at me, so I faked calling another number and said:
”Funmi, mum told me your school fees is a hundred thousand naira. I am sending three hundred thousand so text me your account details. Manage that for now.”
Now I could see the girl staring at me so I turned to her. She pointed to the floor and said: ”your phone’s battery fell down when you brought it out.”
I felt like disappearing.