ADVENTURE READING CONTEST #1 (SBD Payouts for Photography, Writing, and Engagement!)

in #contest6 years ago

Now that I have over 1000 Steem Power, I feel like I have enough influence to start a contest! I’m picking a topic that is near to my heart, since it incorporates many of my biggest loves: reading, exploration, photography, and storytelling!

(After years of being scolded for carrying my book everywhere, I just want to make it an acceptable thing, ok Mom?!)

AdventureReadingContest1.jpg

What Is Adventure Reading?

Turn your reading into an adventure! For me, this often means shoving a book into my hiking pack and heading to the hills, but you can take your own interpretation. I want to learn all about what you’re reading and where you’re reading it!

Example Post:
Adventure Reading: "The Emperor's Soul" and Abandoned Mines in Gothic Basin
(you don't need to follow the post's format, it's just to give you an idea to start with)

The Requirements

  1. Upvote this post to increase the prize pool.
    Resteeming and shouting from the rooftops is encouraged but optional.
  2. Take a picture that shows a book you’re reading and where you’re reading it.
    You do not need to travel to a far-flung place, it can even be in your bed! And the book can be anything from a library book to an article on a tablet.
  3. Tell us about your journey.
    Be sure to incorporate details about both the book and the place, but beyond that there are no rules - creativity is encouraged! The journey here can be literal or metaphorical.
  4. Include the words “Adventure Reading Contest” in the title.
    So I know it's an entry, and to spread awareness of the contest to others.
  5. Tag your post “adventurereading”
    So myself and others can find it.
  6. Submit your post by Sunday, January 28 at 8 PM UTC.
    Click here to convert to your time zone. Since I doubt I will be able to get many takers on my first contest, I am giving 2 weeks to submit your entry. Stay tuned for more contest posts that you can also upvote to increase the prize pool!

The Prizes

There will be 3 winning categories, each receiving an even 33% of the SBD payout earned from this post and all other posts relating to this contest. I will make sure the total is AT LEAST 10 SBD using my own funds.

The SP part of the payout will go into my own coffers and be paid out to all participants in the form of upvotes - hopefully a win-win!

  • Photography Winner
    This will go to my favorite Adventure Reading photo.
  • Storytelling Winner
    This will go to my favorite Adventure Reading description.
  • Community Winner
    This will go to an individual who has given meaningful interaction through comments/upvotes on other Adventure Reading participants’ posts.

It is possible for one person to win all three of these and take 100% of the prize! The judging is entirely subjective, but I will put my heart into choosing the best based on quality and effort.

EVERY valid entry will receive a 100% upvote from myself. . I'll also give partial upvotes to my favorite comments and will be honoring ALL my favorites in the winners post.

The idea is that the engagement portion will make this a valuable contest to participate in even if you don’t win! Remember, we are here to SUPPORT EACH OTHER! Voting for others doesn’t hurt your chances, it helps everyone!

Let me know in the comments what you think about this contest and if you have any questions/concerns. If it is a success (meaning people actually join), I plan to hold future editions of the Adventure Reading Contest.

- Katie, @therovingreader

Sort:  

ATTENTION! - Go to Adventure Reading Contest #1 Update

Since this post paid out today, I have added an update post that will increase the final reward pool. Please upvote that post instead of this. Thank you!

Ow, I love this kind of challenge - I am an avid reader but this makes me look at reading from a new perspective, really nice! Will now start thinking about what my adventure will be. (Thanks for the two weeks notice!)

Awesome! I can't wait to see what you come up with.

Oh wow, this is great. If there comes the right idea to my mind, I'm going to participate. My first one was to read somewhere outside and take a picture of it, but here in Germany it is very cold at the moment :D In February I would have been in a warmer clime^^
But I'm looking forward to the pictures that will come.

Greetings from munich - Swanni

Totally understandable! Indoor reading can still be adventurous, in a cozier way! Hopefully I can keep this contest going long enough so both hemispheres can have their fun in the sun.

This great! Good going on making a contest that integrates things you.
While indulging in your favorite book, taking a photograph for memory, you also meet and interact with fellow bookworms. Hope this becomes a success :)

That's the plan, thanks! Looks like it's already working - the bookworms are coming hehehe! Hope to see your contribution.

I'm thinking on it! I always bring reading material with me wherever I go, I can't let a day go by without indulging in a good book, but your adventure reading looks so much fun when you think about all the places where you can read, and at the same time enjoy the atmosphere.

I've been looking around, but as a newbie haven't found a community for bookworms. Is there any around here?

Look at you, high roller! Finally, it's your turn to do the contest run. From the looks of it, you've already drummed up quite the interest! I feel like this contest has a great potential. Lots of avid readers here and lots of people who want some sweet sweet SBD. The environment in which a person is reading in is such an underestimated factor to the whole experience. I feel like once it's acknowledged, people's reading experience would be all the more elevated. Way to introduce your norm to everyone, with an incentive! Resteemed this in hopes of it catching more eyes!

Thanks so much! It seemed like a pretty specific idea, but thanks to your guys' help it looks like people might actually try it out! A lot of my memories of books are linked to where/when I read it, so I'm excited to see where people take the idea (and hoping to drum up some engagement on the participants' posts).

I haven't sat down to read something for months, so maybe introducing a change of scenery would do the trick!

This is great! Not my cup of tea I like drawing pictures, I have the attention span of a turtle sometimes and reading can get frustrating for me if it's a long in depth book. But I love the idea, hope it works out and a lot of people get involved! Steem on my friend! I'll resteem this for you too to help spread the word.m

Thanks for spreading the word, even if it's a niche outside your own! I love seeing some of the drawing competitions on here, even though I can't draw anything non-geometric haha.

No problem. Glad to help! Everything you draw is in shapes. Most people don't realize the steps, but easier then you think for simple images!

Oooh this is interesting, i would try it out i think, although i feel like i'll do terribly i guess its worth the try

Hey @therovingreader, this is a different kind of contest.
I'll give it a try.

Fantastic! I look forward to seeing it.

What a neat contest! Upvoted and resteemed! :)

Thanks so much for your support! I hope to see your entry! :)

Youre welcome!

Interesting one, hopefully I'll join soon

Great! Looks like you already have some lovely photography - just throw in a book. ;)

I will definitely :)

Great idea, looking forward to it :) how long will the contest last? like in which timeframe can one participate?

The deadline is on Sunday, January 28 at 8 PM UTC. Wanted to give everyone plenty of time and amp up the rewards, since it's new. Hope to see your entry!

I think I'm join it! Probably will be a indoor adventure, I'll try to submit mine in the next few days :)

YES! I look forward to seeing it. :)

I have some ideas! I will try to pull an entry together!