ADVENTURE READING CONTEST #2 WINNERS!

in #contest6 years ago

Thank you SO MUCH to everyone who showed interest in and supported Adventure Reading this time around!

Being absent on here wasn't great timing on my part for holding a contest, but at the same time it kept me super excited to come back and read about what other people are reading. The participants did a wonderful job sharing their feelings about the book in their hands, and I felt drawn into each location - I felt like I was right there reading alongside each of you!

The Winners

Photo Winner: @akaem
"City" on a Half-Empty Bus with Good Company


BusReading.jpg

Akaem and her roommate Miguel did a great job capturing the feeling of reading on a bus. Their photographs show how the passing scenery and commuters all fade away as you sink into the pages. I also enjoyed the photoshoot at the end, featuring what is clearly a well-loved book by Alessandro Baricco.

Storytelling Winner: @tin-tin
"The Cat Who Saw the Stars" and Milk Tea




So I admittedly have an addition to milk tea, but that's not the (only) reason I'm picking this one! When I volunteered at the library, I used to wonder what this "Cat Who" series was about, and @tin-tin's humorous and detailed description totally sold me on it, while also giving a lovely overview of her experience at the cafe.

Community Winner: @awhsarada
"The Dead Student": Funny Translations and a Cold Morning




Once again, @awhsarada has proven herself a valuable community addition to this contest. She was ready to go with a new entry at the beginning, and she commented on and upvoted all the other participants. I was impressed by the level of involvement from everybody who participated - I love seeing your names pop up as I browse between entries! @rindaman1234 also gets a mention here, and I will be rewarding some of my out-of-pocket prize as a bonus to him.


The Payouts


8.5 SBD from me + 1.061 SBD from first post + 3.119 SBD from update post = 12.68 SBD
Split equally three ways = 4.23 SBD
Plus 1.5 SBD from me distributed as a bonus



As promised, I also 100% upvoted every participating post.


In case you were curious what's been keeping me away so long, my free time was spent editing and launching a new storytelling musical podcast (available for FREE on Apple Podcasts).

I will be sharing more about what that is on Steemit, but I'm also powering through catch-up work on my programming projects so I don't know when exactly that will be.

ALSO, I love this contest so much that I will be holding it again! I hope to launch it next Sunday, so those in-the-know will have even more time to prepare.

- Katie, @therovingreader

Sort:  

Oh man, I'm so happy to see the participation for this! I have no doubt that this will grow even more in the months to come!

Thank you for all your support! I hope it does keep growing, since this is basically a contest to get people to write about the things that make me happiest haha.

I love how passionate you are about reading! Up to the location! I aught to start traveling with a book just for the photos! lol

Ooo, you should! Bonus points if you read books by local authors or set in the area where you're traveling. :) I find it can really help me understand a place better.

Hope all is well in Rovingreader world. I’ve been immersed in this yoga thing and neglecting my steemit friends. I’ll have to enter the next contest.

If you're not too exhausted with yoga, you could create a reading flow! I've been neglecting Steemit altogether, but not for forever. At least this contest keeps me checking in while I work through my other priorities.

Thanks for the contest! It's great, we get to read, take pictures, and share about it with other reading enthusiasts :)
Looking forward to the next one! O(≧▽≦)O

I love reading your entries! The next one is up now.

Yay! I just have the right stuff to read in mind. Or rather, two stories to re-read that I'd like to share.
Thanks for the heads up :)

Well, maybe good luck next time for me, but it was still a lot of fun doing all this stuff and participating in this Adventure Reading keep it going @therovingreader!!, congratulations to the winners good work guys! now it´s time to wait anxiously for the next contest

Judging is the hardest part of the contest for me - I really enjoyed your entry, so I was glad I was still able to reward you in some small way and I hope to see more from you! The next contest is up!

OMG!! Thank you very much!! I'm looking forward to see what comes next!! It was really nice to participate on this with other book lovers!

You had such a fun entry - thanks for joining the little book nook here! The next contest is up!

~('-')~ This is by far one of my favorite contest since I am here on Steemit! Again, thanks for the contest and looking forward to the next one (/'-')/

It's so awesome finding other people passionate about reading, and you do a great job with your location! The next contest is up. :)