Sort:  

Whang-od Oggay the last and oldest tatoo artist in the Philippines. So, I guess this picture was taken in the Philippines specifically in Buscayan, Tinglayan, Kalinga. 😊

Haha yes, it was! She is such an amazing presence and the entire experience was incredible. Did you have the opportunity to go and meet her?

No, I haven't meet her yet.. She's famous here in the Philippines that's why I know her. 😊

where is the place that they do the old school tattooing!? Vietnam or thailand potentially? Or those too obvious and it's somewhere much much smaller.

Hi! it's actually in the north of the Philippines, Wangg-Odd is the last one of her tribe still doing this traditional stick and poke tattoos (done with a thorn of a bush, which you can pick right next to her house) was an amazing experience!

Wang-Odd thats an awesome name! Thorn of a bush..interesting! I feel like I've seen a video or something about it a few years back! Super cool..was it painful?

There are loads of video's so probably you have seen one! The tattoo took about 1 minute but was more painful than tattoos that took an hour (but hey, a good story to tell).

Yup I think I definitely have! Wow yeah no kidding. What did you end up getting?

Also a heads up not sure if you've seen but you should get your free ByteBall since you have a rep of 49. I wrote about it in my last post.

She doesn't do request tattoos. She has traditional tribal tattoos from which you can pick, or you can get her signature which is 3 dots. So I decided to go for the 3 dots haha!

And will check out your post now about Byteball, I'm still such a newbie when it comes to all these things...

Ahh fair enough I mean logically that makes sense thinking her age and how long she's been doing it it's probably something more basic like that.

So you just show up and she does it?

No worries I mean it's fairly straight forward! Once you do it let me know I'll send 6 cents to your wallet and you'll get 40$ since you're rep 49! Too bad you weren't 50 or else you'd get 80$

I have no idea who she is but I'm guessing you're getting a (bamboo?) tattoo! :-)

Hi, this beautiful woman is Wangg-Odd, sources say she is about a hundred years old! And yes a stick and poke tattoo with a thorn of a calamansi bush, one of my favourite stories to tell haha!

Wow, that's incredible! I can't believe she is that old! That's an amazing story for you to tell for the next many years :-)

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @traveleranna.

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 8.3%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

How Cool!

You got a 11.11% upvote from @coolbot courtesy of @traveleranna!

Help us grow, delegate today!