Writing contest

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I’d like to preface this article by making sure those of you reading this understand, this is not a contest. At least, I won’t be providing any currency to the participants. However, this is my commentary on the state of Steemit’s overpopulation of contests, and the lack of diversity in them.

I’ve noticed that, while going through the contest tag, one can find contest after contest for a variety of things; drawing, essay writing, meme creation, etc. But what I’ve yet to see is any contest, for writing at least, which encourages creativity. I myself don’t have the funds to create a contest of these sorts, but I would like to see them, perhaps even participate in one. But they don’t exist. The only writing contests on this platform are those that provide a prompt, more often than not it’s about some cryptocurrency service, wherein it is little more than a journalism contest.

All this to say; I really want to see more contests on Steemit, with creativity being the prompt, not some service trying to get free promotion. I suppose my contest is for all who see this, to create something better for those around you to participate in.

                         Fin 

Sort:  

Agreed. I would like to see more fiction related contest but there hardly are any.

The only ones I’ve seen are for drawing, but as a writer I’d love to see some in my own medium.

True:)

Congratulations @trulyalive! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @trulyalive! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trulyalive! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!