You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CONTEST TIME! 10 STEEM BEING GIVEN AWAY IN PRIZES! THIS IS A MUST READ ARTICLE FOR EVERYONE!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Vanholio here! Been livin' the vanlife almost 3 years now. That's what I blog about – REAL vanlife, not that Instagrammed BS.

On Steemit here and my longstanding blog, Vanholio.com, I tell it how it is and give some advice to wannabes and other vandwellers. Plus sometimes I rant on politics and people.

Here's a post a mine that comes from the heart: Are You Homeless if You Live in a Van?. It's personal and political.

Thanks for lettin' me in on this contest. Lookin' forward ta diggin' through the entries ta find now folks ta follow.

PS: Upvoted @keephy for the contest rules. He told me about the contest, and I been followin' him a while. But I'm sure I'll upvote others once I dot all my I's and cross all my T's.

Sort:  

Hey @vanholio, I'm so glad to have 'stumbled' upon your post here! Your entry is enlightening for a lot of people I'm sure; and the 'rules' surrounding the idea of what actually is a residence are nonsense to say the least! When my husband got sick (cancer), we tried the chemo route, then dumped a lot of money into the natural route; needless to say, when you stop working to heal yourself, it doesn't take long to use up your savings. We ended up selling our place and buying a 5th wheel to live in, and the cultural and societal negativity surrounding our choice became very apparent to us. We eventually decided to sell everything and move to Mexico to simply enjoy life..and the cost of living here is awesome :) Cheers!

Sounds like ya'll definitely made lemonade outta lemons.

Yes definitely, or limeade outta limes ;)

Or margaritas ...

Bingo! You win haha

@vanholio very, very interesting and well done! I am looking forward to seeing more of your stuff on here! Thank you for taking the time to participate in this community project and contest event, it's because of the participation of people like you that this is going to be a ground breaking series of events. It's a pleasure to have you on board my friend!

Day Two's winner was announced a bit ago so I wanted to come by and personally ask you to drop an entry or two in for Day Three which is running currently until 6pm EST tomorrow. You have good material and honestly I'd like to see more of what you have to bring to the table! Great job, definitely keep it up!

BTW - I d not consider living in a van homelessness by a long shot. Hell, if I needed too, I would. NTM have considered it for the fact I could travel the country effortlessly. Great piece!

For Day 3 of the contest, my entry is one of my most popular posts on the blog and here on Steemit, Is Living in Your Van Illegal?. (The photo is out for some reason, but that's OK. It's mostly for flavor.)

As a followup article for those interested in the legal issues: Did LA Federal Case Make Vandwelling Legal?.

PS: [Duplicate Day 3 entry to comment on Lucky Lotty 7 Winner for Day Two ... Wasn't sure where to post.]

Great piece @vanholio , definitely shed some light on the topic for me. I have seen folks get arrested for staying in their vehicle at WalMart, which is complete horseshit in my opinion. Why add insult to injury, you know? Thanks for entering and sharing this with the community! I'll be announcing winners soon, had a hell of a day that backed me up and kept me off of here for a while. Feel free to drop an entry in for Day Four while I'm working on everything. Thanks again my friend!