Win 1.5 SBDs, Author Rewards, and Some Free Publicity

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

VDux Haiku Contest and Happy Feet!!!

So we start running through our new batch of Themes. Thank you to all who suggested something!

@mineopoly where you been? @mermaidvampire keep shining!

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about circus!

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Three ring circuses.

Family entertainment.

Now they are all gone.

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

This theme comes from @emergehealthier, who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, September 6, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, September 6, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBDs
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests:

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @millennialnow, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @rentmoney, @sidequest, @oclinton

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

Mine

Circus
tied-103264_1920.png

Image credit

The dark side of fun
see tortured animal slaves
who wish they were free

I agree with you is the part that nobody considers.

nods that why I will only attend animal free circuses ...

That is the dark side, isn't it?

You refer to animals the way that humans, for the most part, treat them, like slaves. Our relation ship to the animals is skewed.

Clowns without makeup

A circus without a tent

Washington D.C

xip1d486mv4x.jpg

Ugh I know, I know. Trust me!

I didn't want to be political so I was hoping the artwork was fair, as it insulted both sides, I realized that I never use the word circus to describe a traditional circus, I believe I used the word circus 99% of the time to describe an organization that I am disenfranchised with.

Meh. When I worked on Capitol Hill we called it Hollywood for ugly people.

Ha! Ha! Ha!

Apis the praised bull
Ran the circus between Gods
And man peacefully

Horror vacui
We hear the torturous screams
Circus mid-night dreams.

Yikes.

Maze in the jungle
Shamans greet small animals
A man-made circus

Maze in the jungle
Shamans greet small animals
A man-made circus

                 - tristancarax


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This is one smart bot!

NO IT'S NOT. It's never once detected my haikus...


Source

ha ha ha! How is that even possible? I think it has caught me about twice when I wasn't trying. Maybe once the nightmare ends ...

::sigh::

My entry

circus-828680_960_720.jpg

The people's cheers ring,
Sure, everyone loves the circus.
The animals cry...

Yes. Often forgotten.

Swinging back and forth
Twirling, dipping through the air
high above the crowd

I sometimes get scared for the acrobats. It's an incredible sight but I do cringe sometimes...I guess that's the point, right?

Yes! ooh-ing and aah-ing and cringing.

That picture of from 'The Greatest Showman,' which I found to be an entertaining story about how the circus began. :-)

Held Breath

Your heart in your mouth
Gripping the edge of your seat
Will he catch her hands?

You always have the best words!

That is is exactly how I feel when I watch acrobats. I cringe sometimes...not quite hands covering my eyes, but that momentary gasp!

The crowd is on edge
as the woman swings forward
and flies through the air.

Ack! My heart dropped! Stop!

The Steemit Circus



Bidbots everywhere
Welcome to the circus guys
Steemit is the prize

Oh I used to drop a few SBDs on them bots occasionally, never seemed like I got enough back for it? Am I the only one?

They intentionally fall
We spontaneously laugh
Who is the one in control

I like the sentiment of this haiku, can you put it into a traditional haiku? I ask this of everybody so each person has the same rules, keeps the contest fair. Everybody has to put their words into a 5 syllable - 7 syllable - 5 syllable format, like the kind described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm

They knowingly fall
We spontaneously laugh
Who is in control

They knowingly fall
We spontaneously laugh
Who is in control

                 - sarez


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Aha! And you got the haiku bot, cool!

Nice! And the haiku bot!

Big Top Three Ring Show
There is no way I will go
Creepy clowns abound

Big Top Three Ring Show
There is no way I will go
Creepy clowns abound

                 - four20


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Truth!

Freak side show for free
Feed peanuts to the monkeys
Jealous elephants

Freak side show for free
Feed peanuts to the monkeys
Jealous elephants

                 - four20


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Unfair!

Not The Circus I Expected (Or Send Your Wife To The Circus)

Dangling topless
Men defying gravity
Can still wink and thrust

Syllable counter tells me dangling is two, but whenever I say it, I count three, and the pronouciation guide has three parts. SO hoping this counts as accent variations ;) I went to the circus a few months ago and was amazing that the first act was topless men climbing up and down poles then hip thrusting on a platform, totally explained what my boss had meant about sending his wife so she came back in a good mood lol)

Funny. Nice image. No points off for dialect!

So does that give your boss an excuse to watch the show that has the topless women climbing up and down poles then hip thrusting on a platform?

The Fearless

No safety nets here
With his friend on his shoulders
He bikes cross the wire

Source

Them.

Source

Me!

Wondertainment!

Step right up, it's free!
In these tents the world to see!
Wonder reigns supreme!

What a wondertaining w-haiku! Wow!

Circus tent and show
But no animals there, please!
Just entertainers.

Circus tent and show
But no animals there, please!
Just entertainers.

                 - alom8


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

@tygertyger agrees. And you got the haiku bot!

I guess that shows that mine is a real haiku, lol

Hi @vdux I hope you're doing great. Here's my entry:

'They hide their sadness
For the sake of their circus
Clowns keep on smiling'

Reminds me of a song:

Just like Pagliacci did
I try to keep my surface hid
Smiling in the crowd I try
But in my lonely room I cry
The tears of a clown

Love the reference. Reminds me of Watchmen, as well.

"First Date"
by @amayphin
Thrilled and delighted,
Two circus tickets in hand.
First date full of fun!

Nice! I should've thought of that when I was dating...

Londons_circuses.jpg
London’s Circuses

No clowns in Ludgate,
Oxford or Piccadilly
Yet a circus be!

https://steemit.com/vdux/@viking-ventures/vdux-haiku-contest-entry-circus-917f044d47a5est

Clever! Never thought of that! Good to see you haiku-ing again!

hospital-79605_1280.jpg
Source

The Shriners help kids
My wife was blessed by their love
Attend a circus

https://steemit.com/poetry/@acousticsteveo/vdux-s-haiku-contest-entry-circus-theme

The Shriners help kids
My wife was blessed by their love
Attend a circus

                 - acousticsteveo


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

huh, imagine that... haikubot detecting a haiku on a Haiku Contest page.

Haiku bot searches.
Why does it find some haikus,
But miss some others?

It keeps us wond'ring
whether it will see our post
or pass us right by

Still I must persist
One day, bot will come to me
If I keep trying

One wonders if it
is punctuation that will
bring the haiku bot?

Shrine circus?

Yep. My wife was helped by them when she was a baby and child.

Did you upvote the haiku post? @acousticsteveo

I did now. Woops. 😎

The circus is here
And the fat lady looks like
My ex-wife's mother

The one with the mustache?

An odd group has come
To show what they've got until
The fat lady sings

An odd group has come
To show what they've got until
The fat lady sings

                 - celsius100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You got the bot!!!

My entry!

God, give me your hands!

by @felixgarciap

A clown talks nonsense...
in the circus they listened!
God, give me your hands.

https://steemit.com/esteem/@felixgarciap/god-give-me-your-hands-a-haiku-poem-bdb73859dc7f8est

Beautiful. Saw the pictures, too.

Circus



The circus is here
Why won't you go, it's so fun
The clown " It " is there

I can reply to my own post? Whoa...I only just figured this out???

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! Readers might be interested in similar content by the same author:
https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/win-sbds-and-more-vdux-disco-haiku-party

We love you Cheetah
We would love you even more
If you wrote haiku!

Hi! I am Cheetah,
You may also like this post
by the same author:

That works! I like it.

good one!

OMG brilliant. Can we combine @cheetah and @haikubot?

"Hi Cheetah" bot?

I knew you would! I plagiarized myself!!! Guilty as charged!

Don't worry, I gave myself permission to use my own words.

Life is a circus

Where i go low and high

To feel the thrill that sleeps always anyway

Cool, can you put it into a traditional haiku? 5 syllable - 7 syllable - 5 syllable format, like the kind described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm

I ask this of everybody so each person has the same rules, keeps the contest fair.

Hello @vdux my second entry

The joyful army!

by @felixgarciap

The circus arrived!
ridiculous clowns & puppets..
The joyful army.

https://steemit.com/esteem/@felixgarciap/the-joyful-army-a-haiku-poem-e3c9b1b0eceb2est

Inage source

The circus circus
A great variety show
Animal all-purpose

Cool. Did you upvote the contest post?

Looks like I did.....there was more than 1?

Hmm looks like you did, my mistake. Sorry.

Lucky in the circus
Kept looking down to avoid
Presents our friends dropped

I watched the clown
From my seat felt intense heat
we all fall down clown

Marriage the circus
Cheating on wife with mistress
Escape plan after chopping