You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #23: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago

“Sure a bloody red sky, inn’it?,” the old shepherd said. “Bad weather is coming.”
“How do you know that, grandfather?” The girl asked.
“Every sailor knows it to be true – even Jesus knew it was true. A red sky in the morning is bad news.”
“But surely, that’s just a philosophy of negativity?” The girl challenged. “Life is what you make of it.”
“Not for me. For me, it is what it is… this red sky tells me there’s a storm coming and with ewes lambing, it could make the difference between lambs that make it and lambs that don’t,” the old man taught. “Tell me how that is a ‘philosophy of negativity’.”
“I guess you just have to figure out how to best deal with what Nature throws at you,” the girl concluded.
“You have to ‘hope for the best and work for the rest,’” the old man shared with a nod.
“Teach me how,” the girl said.
He smiled and nodded. “I’ll make a shepherd out of you yet!”
They sat in silence for a few minutes, watching the sun rise above the horizon at last.
“Sure a bloody red sky, inn’it?” the girl said.

red_sky_dawn.jpg
(Image from Pixnio)

Also on my blog